candy day

2001-10-31

During the Fall, all squirrels are named Russell. During other times of the year, I like to call them all Rory Calhoun. This is because they remind me of that man...you know the one; that man who is always standing, and walking.

Today I read that Michael Balzary, aka Flea of the Red Hot Chili Peppers, is funding the construction and operation of the Silverlake Conservatory of Music. The conservatory will offer classes to Silverlake children (Silverlake is a neighborhood in L.A.), and Flea will teach some bass and trumpet classes himself. Isn't that just so cool? I like when people who have resources share their resources with others.

So I talked about my new niece yesterday, but I didn't tell you her middle name, because I didn't know it yet. Francisco told me last night that it is Francesca. Lucia Francesca--I think that sounds nice, especially in conjunction with her last name, which I will not be telling you, so you'll just have to trust me when I say the names all work together quite well. I am so looking forward to meeting her.

Speaking of children, I spoke to my friend, Isabel last night (it was our monthly phone date), and she told me her girls will be trick-or-treating tonight as Flamenco dancers. Isabel's sister was in Spain this summer, and she brought both girls Flamenco dresses. I told Isabel to get lots of pictures, because I wanted to see those girls in their dresses and shawls and etc. I'm sure they'll be very cute.

You know something I love saying? I love to say, "I couldn't help overhearing you, since I was eavesdropping and all...". It makes me happy to start sentences that way.

Weird Scott just came into my office to show me his Halloween costume and make me guess who he's dressed as. He gave me a million hints and finally told me he's Wavy Gravy. I'm all like, "Oh of course!", but inwardly I'm going, "Who?". Good old Weird Scott; you can always count on him for a hippy factor of 11.

I have no plans for tonight other than staying at home to hand out candy. Well, I'm also going to see how much house I can get cleaned between trick-or-treaters, but that's it. Francisco will take Boy around the neighborhood and we will inspect his candy haul extra-good, just to be safe. At 9:00 we will tuck Boy into his bed and turn out all the house lights and watch West Wing from the comfort of our bed, and if any trick-or-treaters ring the doorbell, they will have to be out of luck. I like our new West Wing ritual; little things like that comfort me.

Okay, yesterday on my way home from work I heard on the radio that someone is manufacturing Osama Bin Laden masks for Halloween. What kind of dumbass would wear one of those? One would think you'd get the crap beat out of you if you were stupid enough to wear one. On a semi-related topic, Isabel was telling me last night that her sister and brother-in-law had taken a trip to Mexico shortly after 9/11 (the trip had been planned far in advance). They were kind of nervous about the trip, perhaps mainly because Isabel's brother-in-law bears a very striking resemblance to Osama Bin Laden. He's Chilean, not Arabic, but still, he looks very much like Bin Laden. I don't think there is a point to this story, but I thought I would mention it anyway.

That's it for me today, sweetpeas. Have a great night and be safe, and I'll talk to you tomorrow.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify