L'Idiot Box

2001-10-25

Holy crap, this has been Such a busy day!! I thought I'd never get the chance to update, and now that I have time, my mind is so full of work-y things that I forget much of what I wanted to say. I will forge bravely ahead, splitting infinitives as I please.

I'm excited for Survivor tonight. The way I figure it, the tribes are quite uneven. There is the likeable tribe, also known as Boran, which means "Losers" in Swahili, and there is the militant tribe, Samburu (Swahili for "Anal Persons"). I can't see Boran winning any challenges tonight, since they are down two people already, so they'll have to vote someone out and will become even weaker against the mighty Samburus. This is my official prediction, but hopefully I'm wrong, because I want Samburu to have to vote someone out, so I can see which way Silas is going to vote. He's their swing vote, you know, and not the shiniest apple in the barrel. Not that smarts have anything to do with voting, but I just thought I'd throw that in.

I want to talk about two other television things, as long as I'm on the subject:

1) The West Wing is a Really good show. I didn't start watching it until 2 weeks ago and now I'm kicking myself for not getting in on the ground floor. The writing on that show is so Crisp, and that is one of the main things I look for in television ("crisp" in one form or another). Did anyone here watch "Action"? It was on for about 5 minutes and it was exceedingly crisp. I loved that show, but I knew after the first episode that it wouldn't last. I says to Francisco, I says, "Francisco [I says], this is a great show, but it's not gonna Play in Kansas." And sure enough! But I digress.

2) South Park last night made Francisco and I conVULSE with laughter. It was a repeated Halloween show, and I saw it 2 years ago but Francisco hadn't seen it. What made it all the more amusing was that when I saw it previously, F's mom was living with us and she watched it with me. She was Horrified, and F got to imagine her reaction to all the offensiveness. It was sooo satisfying.

Otherwise:

I have a Halloween decoration on my office door that is essentially a mylar-strip curtain over the doorway. I am getting static-electric shocks off of it. This is vexing.

I walked with Francisco during lunch today and we had a very interesting discussion about current events and religion and, I don't know...stuff. And it was really great to know that even after almost 12 years of marriage, we can still be interesting to each other, and still have things to talk about. It makes me happy.

The other day Boy called his mom and talked to her for a long time. This was fine with us, though of course it is sort of worrisome. Francisco made a point to be near enough to overhear the conversation but not so near as to be obvious about it. I don't like that we have to do that, but we feel it's necessary because she has said things to Boy over the phone in the past that have been very upsetting to him. It bothers me when Boy talks to his mom, and I don't like that it bothers me. I mean, I think it's kind of normal or natural or whatever to feel threatened in some way by her, but these are not Noble feelings, you know?

Latest amusing Google searches that brought visitors to my little diary:

looks like a midget

erotic story dentist [buh?]

barbie cat litter box

squish your breasts

swimsuit pee

cat pees on bed [though poop is really more our problem]

baboon butts

smallest ass [this visitor was Definitely disappointed]

don't forget you are always on our minds fortune cookie

grippy stomach

like cantaloupes + mammals

little boy happy about nude women

nude drove away with my clothes

golden grahams song

chubby cherries [umm...what?]

one finger on his left hand

foxy grandma shirts

keep your fork + there's pie

his weiner

nudist camps for people with tattoos [this is apparently a person who knows what he wants]

I guess if you want a lot of visitors to your site, go to a nudist ranch and write about it in your diary, because there were Tons more "nude" or "nudist" hits I Didn't mention. People seem so obsessed with nudity--want to bet they are mostly Americans?

It's already 6:15! I've gotta go home; I don't want whatever fabulous dinner F is preparing to be ruined.

Love to all,

E

PS My cat's breath smells like cat food. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify