Dig me

2001-10-23

1) Okay. We have Got to stop bombing Afghanistan.

2) Even if we don't stop bombing Afghanistan on a permanent basis, we absoLUTEly have to stop bombing during Ramadan. I mean it.

3) I will accept no compromises on #2. We need to show respect for the Islamic holy days, and I Hope someone convinces Dubya of that.

4) I know Dubya has a really high percentage of public support right now, but I continue to think he is not smart enough to run the country, or, alternatively, he is not a good enough actor.

I know I haven't talked much lately about world events, namely this damn terrorist hunt/bombing exercise. This is because I just don't know what to say. I have a whole new respect for people who can be really, truly Zen about things, because though I try to be Zen about everything that's going on, I just Can't. Also, I have a whole new respect for Jon Stewart (and I had a lot of respect for him before), because his Daily Show and the 'America Freaks Out!' segments he does are pointing out the stupidity of current events while at the same time being totally hilarious. I love Jon Stewart and all his television sidekicks. I also love that he said, "all up in my grill" the other night. If you saw it, you know what I mean.

I left work early yesterday because Boy called and said he was sick. Apparently the school nurse called me while I was gone to lunch and left a message, but I didn't listen to it because I assumed it was some nudge who could wait a little while. So you know what happened? Our neighbor picked him up from school. I feel very small about that, and I vow I will always listen to my phone messages ASAP from now on. We kept Boy home from school today, even though he feels a little better--Francisco is staying with him. We figure we'd rather keep him home than send him to school and and risk him feeling bad there again.

Yesterday afternoon I actually watched a Martha Stewart show. I don't think it was Living, I think it was something else. I have been vocal about my dislike for her, but this particular show was all about the construction of a "picnic boat" she had had made for her (she probably paid in cash). The steps of construction of the boat were shown, and I was really interested to see how boats are built. This one had a fiberglass hull; it was not made of wood. Officially I guess I still dislike Martha, but she Does show some enlightening things.

Incidentally, my dislike for Martha is not motivated by envy of her and her wealth or her perfection. My dislike for her stems from my conviction that she is a ruthless person who has walked over countless people to get to where she is. I prefer to admire people whose success has not come at a huge cost to others. End of sermonette.

So my friend and I did our little tattoo studio fact-finding tour yesterday, and I have decided that the Tattoo Asylum in Durham is definitely where I would like to get my next tattoo. Now if I could only pin down what I'd like to get... My friend liked the Tattoo Asylum also, and she found an image she likes amongst their flash, so now she just needs to work up her courage. I know she can do it.

There is a person whose diary I read on a regular basis (and just for the record, this person does not read my diary, so I'm not talking about anyone reading this) who, every time I click her link on my buddies page, I think, "Oh please have made some progress!". I really like her but I fear she will always be stuck where she is now, and it occurred to me this morning that maybe some people who ready my diary regularly think the same thing about me. I wonder why it's so easy to know what other people should do in their lives and still be so clueless about my own. Actually, that's not accurate; I know what I Should do, but fear of failure stops me from trying. I'm so tired of being like that. I wish there was a one-time pill I could take that would embolden me. You'd think there Would be a pill for that--this IS America, after all.

I just decided today that I really don't like candy corn. I am 33.

Joleen's diary entry yesterday linked to Moby's webstation, and I could not be happier or more grateful. Did you know Moby is a really great guy? Because I didn't know that until yesterday. I would love to be friends with him; have him over for dinner, hang out. He is such a non-rockstar kind of rockstar. If you get the chance, you should absolutely check out his site, especially his "updates" section. At this moment in time I do not own any Moby albums, but that will have to change.

I think that is all for today, but if I think of anything else, groundbreaking or otherwise, I will let you know.

I'm sending the love. If you have AdobeAcrobat 5.0 you can access the love and send it to your printer, or save it to your hard drive.

Not really. But the love is out there, man. Dig?

Love,

E

PS I like talking the hippy talk. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify