she's a Scratchian

2001-10-09

I don't much feel like writing today--the situation in Afghanistan is too depressing. I will say, though, that I wish my cat, Esther, would change religions, because she's keeping me up at night. She has this habit of scratching the brown paper bags containing, respectively, other bags, newspapers to be recycled, and magazines to be recycled. These three bags are out where she can get to them, and she loves scratching at them so much that we've said it's part of her religion. If we're around while she starts scratching, we will pause and wait until she's finished, and will then say, "Amen.". The problem is, she's begun to scratch the bags in the middle of the freaking night, and it's a pretty loud thing, as she is blissfully absorbed in the activity and throws all her energy into it. Lucky for her, she's so wonderful that she can wake us up ten times a night and we still think it's part of her charm.

Oh, one other thing--Francisco's sister's baby is due on October 26, which means that really she could have it anytime now. I'm getting very excited and impatient to find out if it's a boy or girl. It doesn't really matter to me which it is, but I would love to be able to shop, and unfortunately the baby industry is very gender oriented.

Okay I lied; one more thing, but only one more, for real. Francisco's mom called last night and told him that her trip back was totally miserable because her mother drove her crazy the whole way. Did I not predict it? Because yes I did, and maybe you're just not remembering correctly. I think basically the universe looked at this mother/daughter cross-country trip and decided it would be the perfect time for a little karmic payback. This would theoretically be payback for two years worth of Francisco's mom driving Me crazy. I know saying that makes me a vengeful bitch, but I don't think I really am. And even if I were, I wouldn't need to be anymore, because my friend the Universe has evened everything up. It might even possibly be advance-karmic payback for us having to haul F's mom's cat back to Seattle for her, because I'm pretty sure we're going to have to do that. F says airlines won't ship animals in the animal cargo hold anymore because it's a security risk, so the cat will have to be a carry-on. We will be forced to sedate him--7 hours of yowling would be unendurable.

I'm really done now. Love to you,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify