MmrrrrraaaAAAAOOOOOOOooooowwwww!!!

2001-09-24

Hello! My weekend wasn't that exciting but it felt pretty good while it lasted. Friday night we did pizza with Francisco's mom and grandma, and it was okay but his grandma wasn't talking much. [No Red Oak Lager, but a Nut Brown Ale was a good subsitute. ] Saturday morning we went over to his mom's to say goodbye, and his grandma still wasn't talking much, so I guess Thursday night was an aberration after all. Whatever; it doesn't matter. I have no idea where those two gals are now--probably approaching Manhattan, if not already there. I hope they have fun, but I am not sanguine--the grandma is very high maintenance.

When we were over at Francisco's mom's on Saturday to say our farewells, her roommate did something that made me want to run screaming from the house. I'm not real fond of the roommate anyway, for a lot of reasons, but this was beyond the pale. Francisco's mom had made plans to leave her cat with her roommate until she got settled somewhere (probably in November), and then Francisco has to ship him out to her as airplane cargo. This was all arranged a month ago, at least. We were standing around talking, and the roommate says to F's mom, "If you aren't settled in November and don't have anywhere to keep Fitz [the cat], maybe your kids could bring him as a carry-on when they go out there at Christmas." Okay: I hate flying at the holidays--it is already a misery and people are cranky and try to bring way too much carry-on stuff, and it always stresses me out a Lot. I do NOT need the extra added bonus stress of a carry-on Siamese. I have nothing against him as a cat, but he likes to let you know if he's unhappy, and he has a very projecting meow. He is a cat who meows from the diaphrahm. He stayed with us for 3 Whole Months when F's mom first moved out here, and he woke me up several times per night, every night, with his creative meowing noises. Can you imagine flying with such a creature? Crying babies are nothing compared to that; we would be the most hated people on the plane. I put a hasty kibosh on the idea, but I am afraid it may crop up again.

Based on the roommate voicing such a cruel suggestion, I have a prediction. I predict that in two weeks, give or take a few days, she will call Francisco and tell us that the cat is making her miserable. She will tell Francisco that she can't take it anymore and will basically force us to come get the cat and have him stay with us. This is something I have been avoiding from the get-go, because my cats Hate and Despise Fitz--when he stayed with us before, our lives were lived against a perpetual background soundtrack of feline hissing and growling. My cats were miserable, I was miserable (from the nightly meowings), and I am living in mortal fear that my prediction will come to pass. If it does, I will have to take to the bottle.

Here is the rest of my weekend, in as condensed a version as I can make it. Saturday: Went to the library; got some good books. Read a Lot. Sunday: Watched a lot of M*A*S*H (there was a marathon on FX). Did laundry and other home-maintaining tasks. Went to a river ecology thing, because Boy's class is involved with it. It was a miserable time, due to a migraine and a grillion biting bugs. Watched Iron Chef Sunday evening, and I believe it has lost its hold over me. I wasn't nearly as interested in it as previously. I wonder what my next obsession will be...

I interviewed that guy today, and he did pretty well. He was visibly nervous but he managed to be fairly friendly and he didn't even blink when I asked him to tie a sheepshank. He tied it and then explained what it is used for. He is pretty much neck in neck with the other candidate, as far as I'm concerned.

I did a thing today that I was nervous to do, though it will sound silly to be nervous when I tell you what it is. I emailed the nudist ranch to tell them I want to write a story about the naked race, and I asked them for permission to mention the ranch by name. The reason I asked is because I really like that place, and assuming my story gets published somewhere, I didn't want to be the instigator of unwanted publicity. This is North Carolina after all--I can just imagine a truck full of rednecks going out to the ranch to make trouble. Anyway, they emailed back and said it would be fine, and I will send them a copy of the story when I've written it. I'm excited! It's not that big a deal, but I feel like I'm finally taking steps to accomplish my goal of being a writer. Woo-Hoo!

Gotta go home now, but more tomorrow.

Love!

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify