so jealous of Vex

2001-09-20

This has to be quick, because Mildred and her mom are at my house even as I type, and I can't dilly-dally too long. I anticipate I will have some good stories to tell tomorrow.

Vex's diary recently has got me really really Really wanting to go to Burning Man next year. I have read the entire website, plus looked at other Burning Man sites, and my whole insides are itchy with wanting to go. Unfortunately, the more I think I want to go, the more I am thinking of things that will prevent going. Since it is held over the week of Labor Day, school will be starting for Boy, and plus Francisco will (hopefully) have a teaching job for next Fall, and probably his Fall semester will start before then or during the week of Burning Man anyway. But doggone it, if I Can, I Will go--as You are my witness! Look at the site and you'll understand my desire to attend.

I walked with a couple coworkers at lunch, and on our way back we passed a man picking muscadine grapes off an unowned vine, and we talked to him and picked a few ourselves. They are delicious grapes; the first muscadines I've had this year, and now I want to run out and buy some. It was fun walking with those women; they crack me up. They were telling me how they were walking at lunch the other day and one tripped and fell and the other said, "Get up before someone sees you!" We laughed a lot during our walk; it was very therapeutic.

This morning I went to the gym (yay me!) and I walked on a treadmill and did one of the programs where it speeds you up or down and the incline goes up and down. The thing with that treadmill is you can't believe the LED lights that tell you you're going up or down, because they will change on you all of a sudden. That treadmill is now known as the Bait And Switch Treadmill. Just so you know. The Testosteronies were in fine form this morning--much grunting and swaggering.

Last night I saw some of a show on TLC that was about the Trade Center attacks, and at the end they showed a montage of photos--the planes hitting the towers, the towers crumbling, rescue workers covered in ash, etc. During this montage they played Bob Dylan singing "We Shall Overcome", and at the end the screen went black with "We Shall Overcome" in white letters. And I'm sorry, but I do not approve of them using that song. First of all, the US has been the world's most privileged country for Years; we have, as a nation, had to overcome very little, compared to other countries. No one can say we have been an oppressed nation. Secondly, am I wrong in thinking "We Shall Overcome" was born during the Civil Rights Movement? Assuming I am correct about that, I feel the useage of it for that television show cheapens the very real oppression African Americans have had to deal with over the years. I mean, yes, the Trade Center attacks were Horrible, really Horrible, and I'm sure we will "overcome" them in time, but in my opinion, the oppression of an entire race of people for a couple hundred years is more deserving of "We Shall Overcome". I know I'm probably nitpicking...no, I AM nitpicking, but I hate to see the deaths of thousands of people exploited by television executives who are milking the tragedy for ratings and who undoubtedly purloined that song as a means to emotionally manipulate viewers. That's my main beef, I guess. I'm starting to hate television executives.

Gotta run off, but love to everyone, and more tomorrow; you can count on it.

XO

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify