he thinks he knows everything

2001-09-13

Hi all. Still not feeling much like updating. I've just been so sad and frustrated and angry. I've been angry at the terrorists (obviously) but I've also been feeling anger at the media. They sure got their little catch phrases (Attack on America!) and photo montages together quickly, and it's bothering me that several stations are still running stuff about the attack 24 hours per day. Since nothing new has happened, it has become blatantly apparent that for the media, it is all about ratings. Local stations have scrolled requests that those who have been personally affected by the tragedy should call them, and you know they're just trying to get some personal content with which to boost their ratings. It's making me ill. I'm not saying I wasn't glad for the television coverage while things were all happening so fast (because I was), but as it is the third day and there have been no other major events, it is really wearing on me. I think stations should resume regular broadcasting and just break in when anything happens that we should know about. One woman's opinion.

I'm sorry to be so bitchy. This morning my boss Enraged me, and I'm still feeling flashes of that. I have spoken of him in the past, and if you've read any of my entries mentioning him you've probably gleaned that he is a jackass. This morning I overheard him outside my office saying how if there's a war, he would assume his son would join up, and if his son was going to join, then he would too, because he wouldn't be able to let his son to risk his life and not risk his own. He then went on to say if there is a war, he hopes all men will seriously consider signing up. I just about started yelling. First of all, he is 54 and has a bad heart, so there is no way in hell the armed forces would even take him and he knows it. How dare he speak so blithely about men going to war? How dare he imply (which he was) that any men who didn't join the armed forces were morally deficient? Most women who work in this office are married and/or have sons of draftable age. Those who aren't married have brothers and cousins and various loved ones who could be drafted, and it is very insensitive for him to speak of our country going to war in that eager way. Honestly, I think he Wants us to go to war; he would really enjoy that. He has been totally pissing me off since the terrorism happened, because his very first reaction was that our air force should fly planes over to Afghanistan immediately and start bombing. Who should we bomb? Even if it turns out to be 100% certain that Osama Bin Laden was behind this, how will we find him? Is killing a bunch of Afghani civilians justified, and will it make the situation better? I think not. The boss also said, disgustedly, "What I don't understand is why the men on those planes didn't try to overpower the hijackers--they only had knives!" Good lord, he wasn't there; how can he believe he knows what they should have done? We don't know what the passengers were told--I heard on the news that at least one plane of passengers were told there was a bomb on board. Who would risk overpowering hijackers if it is believed they could blow the plane up? Basically the boss thinks he knows everything and he expresses his opinion loudly and egotistically. His thoughts and opinions are pompous, ill thought-out, and uneducated. Mind you, he is like this all the time, but it is especially hard to take during such a tragic and stressful time. I am really trying to forgive him for being such an irritation, but it is difficult.

Francisco and I were watching the news this morning and some of the things the FBI has uncovered indicate that this attack was planned Months in advance. It makes me wonder what someone might be planning right now. We in the U.S. have been so lucky to feel so relatively safe for so long when people in other countries never feel safe. Will we ever feel safe again? I hope so.

One last thing, and I hope no one will be offended by this, but yesterday morning Francisco wondered aloud whether any people in NY arel taking advantage of the chaos to purposely vanish, and I wonder about that too. There have got to be people who are very unhappy with their marriages or lives in general, or maybe who owe a lot of money, and who might take what happened as a chance to start over. I don't know why this intrigues me but it does. I do not mean to be flippant.

Thank you very much for letting me vent; I'm going to work hard on being less pissy in the future. I hope you and your loved ones are safe and well.

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify