it may have been small, but it was dingy

2001-08-29

I forgot to say that yesterday, at the work-related event, a British boy came up to me and asked some questions (he had a great accent and was pretty cute), and then he saw the container of candy on the next table and asked, "Can I have a sweet?" I said yes, sure, but what I really wanted to say was, "Honey, you can have the whole BOX if you just say 'sweet' again." He totally reminded me of the Naked Chef--he even had a similar biteable lower lip. I know it's silly, but I love that Brits call candy "sweets". It really gets me, especially when cute boys say it.

You know how I was sort of dreading the Boy's school event last night? Well, it was pretty long but it was Great. His teacher is the best teacher in the whole world, and we feel incredibly fortunate that Boy lucked out and got into his class. He's the kind of teacher I wish I'd had in grade school; I think he'll do the Boy a world of good. He's been teaching a long time and he loves to teach, and the kids worship him. It's really sad that so few teachers have, or will have, so many years of experience, because teachers are paid so badly and so much bureaucratic crap is expected of them, that most new teachers quit after only a few years. We're so lucky!

Can I just say, there have been several Google searches leading people here in the past couple days for "nudist boy" or "boy nudist", and I'm finding that annoying and sick. Anyone searching for those things undoubtedly wants to see naked children, and that pisses me off. If you've found this diary through one of those searches and you're looking for naked children, I beg you to seek help. For real.

Other Google searches lately have included:

took off swimsuit

oh those golden grahams

bodybuilders in heat, and

marabou mules

I think I want to paint the bathroom at work some shade of pink. Not light pink, and definitely not mauve, but a pink with some blue in it maybe. There are tons of shades of pink, and I'm sure I could find a good one. I'm not supposed to do any painting because my Employer has a painting union, but if I'm buying the paint then I don't know how they could object, and I don't think they would find out anyway. My boss would not enjoy a pink bathroom, which is all the more reason to do it. I haven't made up my mind yet whether I'm going to do it, but I'm leaning toward yes because I drink a lot of water, so the bathroom is like my second office anyway, and also I think a color other than off-white would be pleasant for everyone who uses that bathroom.

Here's a fun fact: The town in which I grew up is a major corndog manufacturer. The town is Creswell, Oregon, and if you've ever eaten a Fircrest Farms corndog, then you've had a little taste of Creswell. Creswell's main claim to fame used to be the Dairy Queen, believe it or not. It was not your typical DQ; good food was served there once upon a time, and people would drive 20 miles for dinner. Then the DQ Corporation got wind of it and forced the owners of the Creswell DQ to only sell DQ franchise food, so the owners sold the DQ and opened another restaurant in Springfield, OR. Creswell's DQ really sucks now. The main industry of Creswell was the sawmill; there were always lots of logging trucks going through town. They also have a "chicken plant" in Creswell, which was located near the high school, and when the wind was blowing in a southwest direction, the high school was redolent with chicken plant smell. Yuck. Creswell had a population of around 2000 people, and has one elementary school, one middle school, and one high school. Everyone knows everyone else, and there is much gossiping. The good things about Creswell include the cinnamon rolls at the old TJ's, the cemetary, the pharmacy, the archery store, the high school basketball team, the golf course (so I've been told--I don't golf), and being able to walk across town in 10 minutes. The bad things include the residents (I am bitter because the town consistently votes down tax increases, and as a result the high school has lost not only the art program, but the business program, and god knows what else), the general lack of ambition, and the widespread chewing tobacco habit. My parents no longer live there, so fortunately I never have to visit old Creswell, but I doubt it has changed much since I last lived there, 16 years ago. But seriously, if you're ever passing through Creswell, you simply Must stop at TJ's for a cinnamon roll, because they are on a par with Cinnabon.

Did you grow up in a small town? Anyone?

Done for now, but I'll talk to you tomorrow.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify