honey, we can't afford rice krispies

2001-08-24

Give me a C--a BOUNcy C!

I just finished 20 minutes of eating one baby carrot after another. 20 minutes of carrots, of crunchy chewing and swallowing. Do I feel more full? Hell no. What I could really go for is a veggie burrito, of the type they make at Cosmic Cantina. Now That would be a lunch. Instead I had the carrots and a Power Bar, and there's an apple waiting in the wings. Hoo-boy, I can hardly wait.

I'm tired and all the coffee in the world can't help me now. Francisco and I stayed up too late last night, watching South Park and Jiminy Glick, recorded from Wednesday night. It was enjoyable but both of us spent time laying awake during the night last night--Francisco had several hours of awake time but he's going to take a nap today. After I went back to sleep this morning I dreamt I was working as a lackey on a movie Tom Cruise was directing and starring in. At one point he felt it necessary to the film that the leading actress be placed inside a small freezer with a canister of oxygen, and be lowered into the Mariana Trench. It didn't seem like a very good idea and the actress was pretty pissy about it, but he did it anyway. And also we went to an island for some reason and it turned out to be the Island of Male Prostitutes. I am not making this up. So yeah, I didn't sleep all that well, but that's okay because I can sleep in tomorrow and Sunday and try to make up for the lost hours.

Last night Boy and I got Subway sandwiches for dinner and we went to the store for milk and cereal. Francisco and I got paid today, but yesterday we were So Broke; too broke probably to have Subway, but since there wasn't anything at home either, we went for it. I had to veto several of Boy's cereal requests because they were too expensive and when we were in line at the checkout I wondered if I had enough money, but we made it with 70 cents to spare. I reminded myself of Terms of Endearment, where the Debra Winger character is in the checkout line at the store and doesn't have enough money so she has to put some things back and is embarrassed. I am very fortunate to not have to be this broke often. We are not rich people but generally we can afford to buy food. There were several large bills this past month, one of them unexpected, hence the brokeness. Remember how I said Francisco and I were getting tattoos with our tax refund bribe? Not happening. We had to spend the dough on his student health insurance, which has previously been paid by his school but this year they're not covering it. That $600 bribe slipped right through our fingers--no ink for us for awhile--and we had to pony up $200+ more for the insurance as well. But we made it; I love payday!

Francisco's mom is not only babysitting Boy tonight but is keeping him overnight, so Francisco and I will be doing dinner and a movie, provided we can stay awake. I'm not as excited about having Boy away overnight as I would be had he not recently returned from being gone so long, but it'll be fun to go out and see a movie that is inappropriate for children. Not sure which one yet, but something good, for sure.

A word of advice--if you eat dried apricots, be careful to eat only a few at any one time, or you'll be sorry. Trust me.

I think I want to buy myself a little gift, since it's payday. I want one of those wrist cuff things--like, black leather with spikes. Which would be amusing if you could see my current outfit--very office-worker-y--but I like those cuff things and it would be fun to wear when not at work. A trip to the mall is in my future. And TJ Maxx; I love that place.

I'm out of time and material now. Have a fabulous weekend and take good care of yourselves, and thanks again to those who signed my guestbook--I love that!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify