seems like moles are running EVerything nowadays

2001-08-17

A coworker this morning told me about a bumper sticker she saw yesterday: "Do not tangle with the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with catsup." I thought this amusing enough to consider sticking on my car, though I have a strict no-sticker policy. If I ever see it for sale, I might have to make an exception.

I had what I consider a brainstorm idea this morning while driving to work. All my best ideas come to me while driving, showering, or exercising. The idea was that I should buy some 'new car smell' spray and keep it with me at all times so that I could spray it in incongruous places and confuse people. I was thinking specifically that it would be funny to spray in public bathrooms. "Did someone just shit a Lexus?" an innocent bystander might wonder. I can think of lots of other places to spray it, so I think a trip to the Pep Boys is warranted. I'll let you know how it works out. Any suggestions for spraying locations?

Hey, I would like to clarify one of the things I said in yesterday's entry, regarding the breastfeeding mom. I had said she should give up the martyr thing and buy some formula, and this morning someone commented on that in my guestbook, and I think I sounded harsher yesterday than I meant to. I emailed the guestbook signer (she wasn't being mean with her comment or anything--she seems like a nice person) and said the following (I am going to just paste my email here because it says what I want to say, and why rewrite?):

"I wasn't meaning to imply that the mother was only being a martyr about the breastfeeding--I am positive she has the baby's best interests at heart and that's why she's doing it. I guess I just think her well-being is important too, and if the breastfeeding is hurting her so badly, she might want to consider formula. I got the impression from what my boss said that the mother feels going to formula would be a failure on her part, and I just don't buy that. I know breast milk is Much better for babies than formula, but speaking as someone who not only survived but thrived on formula (my mother tried to breastfeed me but had to stop because she got an infection which caused blood in her milk), it is definitely an option and one that should at least be considered when breastfeeding is causing that much agony."

I just wanted to add that statement, because I totally didn't mean to be a bitch about the breastfeeding thing. To all the breastfeeding mothers out there--'You go, girl! You're doing your baby a lot of good.' [But if it's killing you, you're not a failure if you have to switch to formula. That is all.]

Oh my gosh, we have a slime mold in our yard, and it is so pretty! It's bright yellow and I hope no children trample it. I forgot to tell the Boy about it and that I would like him and his friends [sounds ungrammatical but it's not] to leave it alone, so hopefully it will not be wrecked when I get home. Maybe there will be others! I really love the slime molds.

Okay, this will sound insane, but bear with me. I think of my brain as a big corporation, where there are lots of little workers and lots of things going on. Sometimes when I'm having trouble sleeping I will take a tour of my brain and open doors at random to see what's going on in there. It's all visualization, obviously, but it keeps me entertained. Well, last night I decided I would like to see what's happening in the Discipline Department of my brain, so I went there and opened the door, and do you know who was running the Department? Can you guess who was in charge? You'll never believe it; I know I didn't. Moles! 6 or 7 of them, and my opening the door frightened them into scurrying around myopically, bumping into the furniture and whatnot. "What the hell is going on?!" I shrieked. "Moles?! Moles are running this office?! Get out, get OUT!!!", and they went. The place was a wreck. I summoned my interior designers (or would that be my interior interior designers?), Sven and Gustav, and asked them to please fix the place up--give it a whole new look. They told me it would be ready in 5 minutes so I went down the hall and located the perfect person to be in charge of Discipline: Seven of Nine from Star Trek Voyager. She agreed to take the position and I showed her to her office, and I think she's already doing a bang-up job. I got up for the gym at 5 this morning and forewent a delicious-looking donut at work; both of these are an improvement from yesterday. I think I'll keep Seven in Discipline permanently, and maybe I will end up running marathons or something. I swear I'm not crazy; I just really enjoy visualization.

Yay, it's the weekend! Tonight Boy is having his friend Tony over to spend the night, and Tony is bringing his Rocky V video. I will be reading in my room for the evening, but that's okay because I have good books. Tomorrow we'll do the gym in the morning, and Francisco's mom is having a garage sale tomorrow so we might take some stuff from our thwarted garage sale (earlier this summer) over there, or we might wimp out. I am betting on the latter. We have friends coming over Sunday evening for dinner and Iron Chef, and that will be a lot of fun. I hope Your weekend turns out great, and talk to you next week.

Love to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify