woojyness and the potential causes

2001-08-16

I'm feeling a little woojy right now, and I'm not sure why. It could be because I've been working with two rosters this morning, both with smallish print, and I've been having to look from one to the other, one to the other all morning long. Or it could be because I didn't sleep enough last night, or maybe the peanut butter on my waffle didn't sit well in my stomach this morning. Hmm.

Another thing it could be is from having to listen to my boss talk about his daughter-in-law's troubles with nursing the new baby. Apparently she's had a couple of infections in her breasts and nursing is so painful that while she nurses the baby, she cries. I ask you now, if you had a baby and the nursing was so painful that you wept every time you did it, wouldn't you switch to formula? I sure as hell would. I realise I've never nursed anything and so I don't really understand the bond between mother and infant, but I still think it would be a good idea for her to switch to formula. I mean, are babies like dogs in that they can sense moods? If the child's mother is always crying when he nurses, mightn't he be able to sense the weirdness? Enough with the martyr routine; I say send out for Similac.

Hearing about that infected breast thing this morning definitely made me feel a little nauseaus--I get that way when I hear about other people's medical problems. Several years ago, my friend Isabel was describing to me a procedure she might have had to go through but in the end didn't, and I felt so dizzy I had to put my head between my knees and breathe deeply. I am physically sympathetic. Apparently.

Ooh, maybe I'm getting the flu. That would rock; I would like another day off work. Unless it's a vomity flu, in which case I will pass. I am not going to break my 12 year vomit streak if I can help it, and certainly not for a trifling virus.

Our carpet was cleaned this morning, and thank heavens. We'd really like to replace it altogether, but now is not a financially good time to do it. Carpet is so expensive! As an interim measure we called the carpet cleaners, and Francisco says it went well. I had been worried the cleaning would aggravate the Mighty Dog-Body Stench, but luckily that didn't happen. See, when we moved in a couple years ago, the neighbor's dog had left quite a body stench in the living room. We didn't notice it the several times we were there before the sale went through, possibly because the temperature was cooler then and you know how smells are stronger in warmer weather. But when we were getting ready to move in it was a Powerful Odor, so Francisco rented one of those carpet cleaners. The smell grew stronger; I think Francisco's cleaning angered it. After we'd moved in we had professionals come and clean the carpet and still the smell lingered. I used Febreeze on it and it snickered defiantly. After a month or so it was pretty much dormant, but I feared today's cleaning would arouse the wrath of the Dog Body Stench. I was imagining it stirring and saying, "Who dares to awaken the Mighty Stench? Do you not know of my Power? Very well then--take That!", and the stink would return, perhaps more potently than ever. So far so good; I will be sure and tiptoe around for a couple of days.

Not much to report from last night. Went home and had dinner, then the Pupipanu tribe made a trip to the library. Some reading followed and Francisco went to meet a friend for a couple of pints while the Boy and I amused ourselves for an hour or so until his bedtime. I did laundry and dish things after Boy was in bed, and then I went to bed. I was still awake when Francisco came home but I didn't talk to him because I knew it would wake me up more and take me even longer to get to sleep. As it is, I'm pretty tired. Pity me...pity poor tired woojy tattoobelly....

Oh I'll be okay. I hope all is well for you--have a great day!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify