if your soul is singing, keep it to yourself

2001-08-08

Well, the whole grandbaby shower for my boss didn't go too badly, overall. It was pretty cheesy and he was given mostly clothes and shoes for the baby (I heard enough "Awwwwww!" yesterday to last me a good long time), but another person gave books too. One lady gave him "Baby's First Bible", and I was Soooo temptated to say, "Oh man, that really blows MY gift; Baby's First Ouija Board.." (my gift books hadn't been opened yet), but I managed to resist the temptation. Just barely.

Last night when I got home I found that Francisco had not only made gazpacho, which I Love, but he had also rented a movie he knew I've been wanting to see. He got 'Before Night Falls', and it was pretty good. Fairly depressing and all that, but it made me want to read Reynaldo Arenas's books, because the excerpts of his writings were very compelling. There is a trip to the library in my near future.

I slept better last night. Before bed I applied lotion to my poor burned regions and took a couple extra-strength ibuprofen, so I was able to sleep on my sides as long as I was very careful in rolling over (so as not to scrape my burned parts against the sheets). The sunburn is getting better but it's not healing quick enough for me. It's starting to turn tan, which is great, and I had Better not peel. I am not going through all this pain just to end up the same color as I was before. Do you hear that, Universe?! No peeling!

Francisco and I got up at 5:30 this morning and went for a walk. We walked almost 3 miles, probably, and it was pleasant except that it was already really muggy. Our area is under a Code Red heat warning today. I'm not sure exactly what that means except that it will be damn hot and the air won't be too good either. I'm so happy to have air conditioning. I've done a lot of time without air-conditioning (in Southern California, no less), so I'm not taking it for granted.

This morning I watched a wee bit of MTV and VH1 and I saw a video for a song I hate and a song I like. The song I hate is The Black Crowes 'Soul Singing' song. What I despise about that song is its aggressive rhyming and vapid repetition. I saw the lead singer (don't know his name; I know nothing about The Black Crowes) on The Daily Show once, and he was a funny guy, so I would like to like his music, but I just can't like that 'Soul Singing' trainwreck. No. The song I like is Alien Ant Farm's 'Smooth Criminal'. The lyrics Might be vapid, but who can tell? What I like is the grind-y, driving rhythm of it. I think I will actually call the radio station I'm listening to this afternoon (can't tune in the good station I spoke of a few days ago at work--the signal doesn't come in) and request it. I feel like a teenager again!

That reminds me of the only time I ever won something from a radio station. I was 16, I believe, and it was summer, and the DJ asked a trivia question to which I actually knew the answer. I don't remember the question but the answer was H.R. Haldeman, and the serendipity of the whole thing was that I had done a paper the previous high school semester about Watergate, so I knew all about H.R. Haldeman. Wanna know what I won? Get this: I won a Mountain Dew t-shirt and a Rick Springfield album. Rick Springfield, people, and I was thrilled! It was the one with 'Jesse's Girl' on it, and I wore that vinyl out. I liked Rick Springfield; I thought he was cuuuute...

Okay, I'm outta here! I hope the weather isn't boiling hot where you are, but from the looks of the weather map, it is. Stay cool, and for god's sake wear sunscreen, parTICularly on your bosoms. I really can't stress that enough.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify