mountains of fiber

2001-07-26

Hello friends. I have learned something since yesterday's entry. I have learned that if you eat Grape Nuts with strawberries for breakfast, green pea salad, cherry tomatoes, a nectarine and an apple for lunch, and split pea soup and a mango smoothie for dinner, you should be prepared to crap a scale model of The Himalayas the next morning. And I truly hope my relaying this fact really grosses out Soupstain, who activated my gag reflex with today's loogy story entry. I really love Soup's diary, a Lot, but I can totally do without loogy references of any kind.

The bosses are back in the office today. They had been gone all week, to a conference, and it was pleasant when they were gone, but now that they're back they get to handle all the stuff bosses have to handle, and I'm off the hook. These Boss Things include irate callers and decisions that need to be made, as well as overseeing the support staff and addressing their various grievances. The grievances mostly have to do with personality conflicts with each other, and they eschew actually speaking to each other about the conflicts, in favor of griping to a third party. It is all very dysfunctional, but it fits in well with the other dysfunctionality going on in the office, so that works out nicely.

Last night I stayed up later than normal, working on some things I had to bring home, and I watched an interesting show on the Discovery Channel while doing my work (it does not require my full attention). It was about hiding places, and the subjects covered included places for hiding valuables, places the military/government will hide if there is a nuclear war, and this wacky woman who you're probably already heard about. She is the heir to the Winchester rifle fortune, and she was told by some psychic that the ghosts of the people killed by Winchester rifles were trying to kill her, but as long as she built a house that would confuse them, and never stopped construction on it, she would be okay. Run-on sentence. The result of this is the Winchester Mystery House, and it is wacky--what a worthless eyesore. It is huge, since she kept adding onto it until her death, and I think you'd need a map to find your way around. The moral of this story is, don't listen to psychics.

Speaking of psychics, Miss Cleo is being sued for bilking lots of people out of lots of money. I sort of enjoy her commercials--she is actually my favorite television grifter--but is anyone surprised that her psychic hotline is being charged for fraud? Did anyone really think when you called her now for your free readin', you would actually not be charged any money? I guess so, and that's kind of sad. Anyway, hopefully the people who got ripped off will get their money back, and soon.

I accidentally overslept this morning and was late for work, but I didn't feel too bad about it, since I worked at least as long last night as I was late this morning. I dreamt this morning that I went to get my hair cut and the receptionist at the salon was extremely surly. She was not only rude to me, but you know how indigenous people the world over use a weapon where they blow poison darts through a hollow stick or something? Well she had one of those sticks, and when I turned my back to her, she blew a bunch of stainless steel triangular-shaped sharp things at me, and they went all the way into my skin. Someone told me that I needed to have them removed right away, because if I didn't they would eventually work their way to my organs and kill me. The rest of the dream was trying to find someone to remove them, but no one would believe me that they were there, and throughout all, the receptionist smiled her smug, hateful, taunting smile. Damn. This really makes me sound crazy, doesn't it.

My lunch hour is up, so I will say farewell for now, except to say hi to my friend, Isabel, with whom I talked last night. She is so great--I really miss living near her--and it was funny to talk to her kids. They are the cutest girls, and they always tell me they love me, even though they barely know me, and I think that is Sooo endearing and sweet.

Bye now.

Love,

E

PS My head feels solid all the way through. It is not a nice sensation. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify