snowball

2001-07-12

So, the eye. I went to the dr and had to wait awhile in the waiting room, which is, of course, standard procedure. There were a couple tiny kids--very small but big enough to run around--really tearing up the place. It was kind of funny, but after watching them almost trip several people by veering or flopping on the floor in front of them, I concluded they were more menace than entertainment. The parents were doing very little, just issuing infrequent weak cries of "Richard, come back", or "Anna, don't do that." I was saved from the kids in due time and put into a room to wait. A student came in first and took my history, and then the P.A. came in and they looked at the eye. They peered at it and decided to dye it yellow so they could look at it with the blue light. And they couldn't see a problem with the cornea; they said they saw the bump in question on my eye but it didn't seem to be a problem with the cornea. The official diagnosis is conjunctivitis, and they prescribed eyedrops. I have to put them in every two hours, and it's not a problem except they give me a bitter taste in my throat. I think I'll have to wash that out with a Butterfinger later. I only have to do the drops through Tuesday of next week, and then I can wear the lenses again. Huzzah!

I got a blood test yesterday too, as planned, and I knew when I arrived at the lab that it was not going to be one of the easy blood-drawings. I have the phlebotomists memorized, as to who is really good with my veins and who isn't, and one of the women who Isn't was manning the store. It took her four pokes to get the vein, which isn't horrible, but isn't great either. Then the cotton wad and bandaid, and remember I told you what a good look that is for me? I was sassy! People wanted me; they wanted me bad.

You know how sometimes you think of something funny to say but you think of it about an hour after you should have said it? Yesterday at the dr I had a fever of 100.0, and I didn't know why except I hadn't been feeling all that great yesterday. The doctor commented on it, and I kind of shrugged, but then later I realized what I should have said. "Oh that? That's nothing [airy wave of the hand]. I just have a fever for the flavor of a Pringle." And it was too late, too late. Stupid slow brain.

So that's all my doctor news--I know it was riveting reading and you are sad it's over, but don't worry; there will be other illnesses, other doctors. Trust me.

Today is Boy's birthday--he is officially 10. I have sent him a couple e-cards this morning and need to send more. More is more, you know. He will be having a party at Skate World, which is somewhere I used to go when I was his age. I loved rollerskating when I was a kid. It was the one physical activity at which I really excelled, except for soccer, and I'm not sure how good I was at soccer. Probably not that good, in retrospect. Anyway, Boy's having a party his cousins and friends will attend, and my parents are taking him to Toys R Us to let him choose his own gift. They better not get him a Gameboy. Do you hear that, Mom and Dad? No Gameboy!! We'll call him tonight and get the lowdown on what he's been doing so far this week.

I miss the Boy; I wonder if he's wearing his necklace. He and I and Francisco made matching necklaces last summer when he was going to Eugene. We chose silver beads that are faces, and Francisco and I each have one bead, to symbolize the Boy, and he has two, to symbolize the two of us. Francisco and I have been wearing ours everyday, and the reason I hope Boy has been wearing his is just because I would like him to be reminded of us and our necklace-wearing clan on a daily basis.

I would like, at this time, to award the Tattobelly First Annual Award for Outstanding Achievment in the Field of Excellence. This award goes to a man who is no longer alive but who wrote the most wonderful books and stories. He wrote, I believe, 92 books, and they are all great. This man is.....P.G. Wodehouse. I've been recently rereading a collection of his Jeeves and Wooster stories, and they are so, SO funny. I highly recommend his books if you have never tried them. They are light, fun reading, and the language is fabulous. I love all that 1920s slang--it's hysterical. P.G. Wodehouse, you kick ass!

I must go. I ate a bunch of watermelon for lunch and the water aspect of the melon is asserting itself on my bladder. Love to all,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify