countdown to cotton wad

2001-07-11

You know those Biore Perfect Pore strips, or whatever they're called? Biore has that pore strip commercial where the camera supposedly close-ups on some girl's skin and shows all these people in black dancing around in her pore, to symbolize, I guess, dirt or bacteria or something. We saw that commercial last night and I suddenly wondered what the people in black dancing in that commercial were going to put on their resumes about it, credit-wise. We brainstormed some credits for a minute, and the one I liked best was 'Gyrating Pore Soil Particle'.

I have to go to the doctor in a couple hours to have my eye looked at. It is not better and I can see what looks like a little divot on my eye, where the iris meets the white. That's where my corneal abcess was before, so it's probably Corneal Abcess Part Two. I think I need some antibiotic drops, since my eye was somewhat swollen when I woke up this morning, and that could mean an infection (per C.A. part one). I'm currently sitting here with a headache in my left temple, and of course in the mind of tattoobelly, this indicates the eye infection is probably penetrating my brain. These are the kind of stupid, yet semi-understandably alarmist, thoughts I have to fight on a regular basis. This tendency to assume the worst reminds me a little of a part in Hannah and Her Sisters where Woody Allen thinks he's got a brain tumor, and he's panicking. His secretary tells him to calm down. She says, "Remember that time you thought you had a melanoma?" He says, "I had a black spot on my back!", and she says, "It was on your shirt!!". My headache is probably from eyestrain, since my eyes are not used to so much time with the glasses, or maybe from the weight on the glasses on my nose. I'll let you know if I have a brain infection, but otherwise you can assume I am a silly ass.

While I'm at the doctor I'm going to get a blood test for my thyroid, since I have run out of synthoid refills, and in any case I think my current prescription is a wee bit too high. I will be returning to the office with a big taped cotton wad on my arm, and that is Such a good look for me. I can't tell you how excited I am.

Okay, I need some advice from those of you with excellent friendship skills. I think I must have offended someone I know from online, and I am not sure what to do about it. I'm a little uncertain as to what the offense could be, but it could be neglect on my part or possibly something I said in jest that was misunderstood. In the past I used to overanalyze all my friendships for signs that I had committed some kind of offense, but I don't do that anymore, and maybe I have swung too far the other direction. I rarely worry anymore if someone does not return email to me in a reasonable period of time--I just figure they are busy. In the past if I had emailed someone and didn't hear back for several days I would automatically assume I had done something to anger or offend that person, and I would worry about it; a LOT. So basically what I'm trying to say is that I'm not sure what to do, if anything, because I don't know what the reasonable reaction would be and maybe I have never achieved the proper sensitivity balance. If I emailed the person to say that I think I must have offended her and apologize for anything inadvertantly insensitive, and she wasn't offended in the first place, then she would probably think I am too needy, and I really hate being thought needy. But if I never say anything and she is offended, then she'll think I don't care, and that is Not the case. Advice, anyone? I SWEAR this is not a ploy to get people to sign my guestbook.

Here are some recent Google searches that have led people to this diary:

Bodybuilder's thong

Stuckey's pecan logs

hairiness + extreme

feats of strength movies

two little lovers sitting in a tree

real sex noises for listening

So Many Idiots In The World

and my favorite,

by the short hairs phrase

I think most of the people who came here via those searches were sorely disappointed, and that pleases me...

Can I just say, if I have offended anyone reading this, I truly did not mean to. If I have offended you, please let me know so I can apologize with sincere concern and affection. Unless you are the President, because Dude, I Meant to offend You.

All the love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify