I had some dreams, they were clouds in my coffee

2001-07-06

Okay. I went to the store at lunch and made the mistake of trying to select some anti-perspirant. Is it just me or are there Way too many choices for anti-perspirants/deodorants now? The anti-perspirant/deodorant section took up fully two-thirds of a very long row. Options included roll-on, spray, cream, regular solid, clear solid, gel solid, soft solid, and gel. Don't even get me started on the new trend of having "natural" style antiperspirants, because there is nothing natural about NOT SWEATING when you're overheated. I discovered that Suave has apparently stopped making my favorite gel antiperspirant, so I had to start from scratch. Took me awhile but I emerged victorious. Soft & Dry gel, in case you were wondering. I also purchased new underwear for Boy, so it was a big outing for me.

Have you read about Andrew's troubles with the PT Cruiser gang? I thought his whole ZZ Top arm suggestion was genius, and I fully intend to do it, but those PT Cruiser people are not happy. It would be nice if they could have a sense of humor, but I guess you can't count on that.

Here'ssomething that made me laugh hard this morning. I sent a pictures of Lucy and Esther; I hope they make the cut. Cats have such great expressive faces--I always think of the Monty Python 'Confuse A Cat' sketch when I think of funny cat faces.

So the Boy made breakfast this morning. He made eggs, over easy, and he was quite proud of himself. We were very encouraging because we have fond hopes that he will someday be making whole meals for us; that would be FABulous. We also had bagels and coffee--the small variety of bagel, not the pumped-up kind. Miles Davis played in the background and it was a very pleasant start to the day.

Yesterday morning I was with Francisco at the nearby track, and while running/walking my laps I had a horrible realization: My 20th high school class reunion is in only 4 years [Dun dun DUN!]. Not only does this make me feel Very Old, it also fills me with horror because the 10th year reunion was so uncomfortable. I had kept up with precisely two of my classmates, and I could barely remember anyone else's names. I would have reviewed my high school annuals beforehand, to refresh the old memory, but they were destroyed in a tragic basement flood many years ago, so no help there. At the reunion I felt as though I were transported back in time to high school proper, when I was shy and unsure of myself, and I couldn't think of anything to say to anyone. It was truly awful, and I have only myself to blame, but at the time I swore I would never attend another class reunion. Now that several years have elapsed I have halfway changed my mind, but I don't want to go unless I have something to talk about. "I have a book coming out" would, of course, be ideal as regards what I've been up to since the last reunion, but for that to happen I have to actually write and market a book. And see, there's the rub, because even though countless people write books in their spare time while working full-time at something else, I don't know that I can do that. I will have to try, though, because even if I didn't have a reunion to think about, I would still like to write a novel--I love writing and I have a kickass plot in mind. For reunion purposes it would also be great if I had just climbed Mt. Everest or donated a kidney to some deserving youth, but let's not get carried away.

Aren't you happy it's Friday? I know I am. Tonight I think we're going to see Cats and Dogs; Boy really wants to see it. Tomorrow we're having Boy's birthday breakfast and we also have to pack his stuff because Sunday he's leaving at the crack of ass, so no time to do it that morning. Sunday after Boy's plane takes off we will return home and worry (well, *I* will--Francisco is not as much of a worrier) for awhile, and then I'm going to have lunch and a movie with my friend, Kimberly. We're going to see Legally Blonde--can you even Think of a better chick film? It might be totally stupid but I'll enjoy it anyway. That's a film Francisco has no interest in seeing, so I'm glad SOMEone wants to see it with me. And of course this weekend I will watch 2 or possibly 3 episodes of Iron Chef; wouldn't be a weekend without it.

Alas, work is calling me, so I've gotta go, but have a great weekend!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify