the sunglasses were just the ticket

2001-07-02

I really need to get a grip on this Monday depression thing--why should one whole day per week be ruined just because the weekend is over? It shouldn't, that's why.

Thanks to those who signed my guestbook this weekend; that was awful nice of all y'all (determinedly southern of me, no?). One sweet girl, Jenny, gave me encouragement re: the navel piercing. She said she has had her navel pierced and it wasn't as painful as she had heard. Anyone else? Because if others have had excruciating experiences with navel piercing, I would Really like to know about it. Por favor?

This Weekend, by Tattoobelly

This weekend I wore my new sunglasses a lot, and felt like the coolest girl EVer. I wore my sunglasses to the Eno River Festival thing, and it was pretty fun but so hot and humid that after awhile we were all rather miserable. Boy seemed the least miserable but I think it was because he was so charged up by the prospect of spending the $10 he brought with him. He Loves to buy things. He purchased an ostrich feather on what I first thought was a roach clip but then saw was not--it was a different kind of clip, and so will not horrify his grandparents. He also played a couple "throw the ball/beanbag through the hole" games, but that was it. I know the $10 was burning a hole in his pocket, so I'm proud of his restraint at only spending $3. Good things about the festival included the gorgeous arts and crafts (not everything was in the gorgeous category, but there was some very nice pottery, jewelry, and clothing), interesting bands, and wading in the river. There was one band whose cd we wanted to get--they're called 'Trailer Bride' and we really liked them--but we forgot to do it until we were ready to leave and had no energy to walk to the cd purchasing area. I'll try to find their cds locally, or on the web. After departing we made it back home in time to rest awhile before Francisco's mom came over. We (and by we I mean Francisco) made panang pork, rice, and broiled asparagus. Francisco's mom brought salad, and we had ice cream and strawberries for dessert. I went to the video place while dinner was being prepared and rented Pay it Forward, which was good but a little sappy. I enjoyed it but felt the emotional manipulation was a bit heavy-handed. Kevin Spacey and Haley Joel Osment were good, as always.

I also wore my new sunglasses yesterday morning, when Francisco went on his 'long run' of the week and I joined him on my bicycle. I haven't ridden my bike in quite awhile because I hate riding with traffic and most places are trafficky. Basically I just don't trust motorists not to hit me, and when I hear them coming up behind me (especially the big trucks) I tense up, expecting to be struck and killed. You can see why I don't ride much. I think riding yesterday was really good for me and my bicycling confidence because--can you believe it--no one hit and killed me. I also got to see things I don't see when driving along those roads. We saw a couple deer, some goldfinches (Francisco pointed those out because I wouldn't have seen them otherwise), and the tiniest frog ever, hopping across the road. He was the size of a large spider, I swear. The riding was fun but I feel it today. Francisco ran 14 miles (is that not unbelievable? It is to me), which took about 2 hours. 14 miles isn't that far on a bike, but because I was on the bike for 2 hours my arms and shoulders really hurt today. The handlebars I have are the kind you have to lean forward onto, and the arms and shoulders got a lot of exercise from that. Amazingly I do not have any residual hinder pain, but it was not that comfortable yesterday during the ride proper. I need two things for my bike: 1) One of those big cushy seats, and 2) Some handlebars that stick up so I don't have to be hunched over. A bell would be nice too, and maybe a ham radio. Mmmm....ham....

And you know it wouldn't be a weekend without Iron Chef. I watched the Saturday night battle and the Sunday evening battle, but I missed Friday night due to tiredness. Sunday evening was the sea urchin roe battle, also called 'uni'. The Zagats were tasters for that one, and Mr. Zagat kept saying "It's a nice dish but I can't taste the uni". He was annoying, and Francisco suggested we make t-shirts that say, "TASTE THE UNI" on them, with a picture of the mush-like uni down below. I think we're going to have to do that. The Saturday night battle had no theme ingredient, but the theme itself was "Girl's Day", which is a holiday they have in Japan. The thing I thought most interesting about it was that the traditional main ingredient for Girl's Day is the clam, because the clam represents chastity. Think about that for a second, will you? I was quite intrigued by that and may have to make another t-shirt with a big clam on it, with "Chastity" written underneath.

The last thing of the weekend was a great article I read last night, before turning off the light and going to sleep. It was about slime molds, which are just such a weird thing, and I never knew anything about them before. They intrigued me so much I think I'll have to do some more reading about them, for real.

So that brings me up to now, sitting at my desk in my office, wondering how the weekend could have gone by so fast and how I'm going to make myself do all the work that needs to get done today. I just will; wish me luck!

Until tomorrow my sweet jelly rolls,

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify