logey

2001-06-25

Lately I've been really hating Mondays, and today is no exception. I am trying very hard to be cheerful anyway, but it's not easy. Please bear with me.

This morning I had the Best dream about the Red Hot Chili Peppers; I did NOT want to get out of bed. Got up anyway and Francisco and I went to the gym, only to find it closed. I guess the person who opens up in the mornings was sick or slept through his alarm or something. We came back home and went for a short walk to try and compensate for the lack of gym-time, and then I watched MTV and VH1 for awhile. I'm tolerating rock music again--which is good--but I still can't listen to the songs that have been played to death on the radio. I have to turn to NPR when I hear that stuff.

The following is a summary of my weekend:

Friday night--Francisco rented 'O Brother Where Art Thou?', and I cannot say enough good things about that movie. I really liked it and I want the soundtrack, and you should see it ASAP if you haven't seen it. It was excellent, in case you couldn't tell.

Saturday--We went to the gym and then Boy went to his friend's to swim and play tennis while Francisco and I did a few errands. We went to a cd store to browse and ended up buying the Red Hot Chili Peppers' "Under the Covers" album, which is basically the covers they've done of other people's songs. 'Tiny Dancer' is particularly compelling. It's a pretty good cd and I don't doubt that that's why I dreamt about them. After the errands we picked up Boy and his friend (let's call him Tony), and took them to Atlantis. It was our plan to take them to pizza afterwards but they weren't hungry, so on the way home we bought frozen pizza and some good beer. Francisco and I needed the beer to deal with having two energetic boys at the house instead of one. They played a little and Francisco and I watched a little tv, alternating between The Learning Channel and Comedy Central. We were actually watching Comedy Central but when the boys were approaching the living room we'd change over, so as to drive them from the area. It was a very effective ploy. Made the pizza around 8:30, and the boys fell upon it like ravening wolves. Especially Tony. Iron Chef was on at 10:00 but by that time I was pretty worn out, and with Tony talking through the first 15 minutes of the show, I just wasn't into it. We sent the Boys to bed and went to bed ourselves.

Sunday--Francisco got up early and went for his long run; he did 12 miles. While he was gone I got up and made pancakes. I actually just put the dry and wet ingredients together separately and then combined the ingredients and cooked the pancakes after Francisco got back. Tony and Boy were quite hungry, so they ate and played, and continued to play until Tony's mom came to get him (about noon). Around 1:00, Francisco, Boy and I went to Dim Sum at this great Chinese restaurant in Durham. We had some dumplings and bao and chicken and sticky rice and other stuff I can't remember now. We were all quite stuffed, so our previous decision to go to Costco held little appeal. We went anyway and got a moderate amount of necessary stuff, and when we'd finished shopping we were all very tired. We spent the rest of the day schlepping around, and specifically we watched Iron Chef at 7:00 (potato battle), which was really great.

I came to two decisions this weekend. 1) Regarding my next tattoo, I'm not going to get the phoenix on my lower back, as previously planned. I decided that the phoenix would be much better on my upper back, because the wings could extend onto my shoulders. For my next tattoo I am looking for Pacific NW Native American designs, to be on the lower back. I have found a few that intrigue me, but no decision as of yet. The next one after that will be a snake or dragon on the other side of my belly (the left side) and then the next tattoo after that will be the phoenix on the upper back.

2) Much to Francisco's delight, I am going to be naked when I watch him do the naked 5K. I don't feel all that comfortable thinking about being naked in front of strangers, but I would like to push myself a little. I'm 33 and I feel like taking some minor risks, and also (perhaps more importantly) I want the material. So I'm going to do it, unless (and this is something that only occurred to me this morning) my monthly cycle interferes; enough said about that. The only reason I am announcing my intention to do this naked thing is because now I will not be able to chicken out without shame. If I didn't say anything I could chicken out and no one would know. Wish me luck!

Okay, I'm finished now. Thanks for listening and have a wonderful day!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify