the fireballs have been altered

2001-06-21

That one's for you, Soup...

Well the day didn't start out so great. I went to the gym this morning and things were fine, but when I got home I overreacted ridiculously to something the Boy did and now I just feel silly. He was a big crab this morning and when I hugged him hello (he gets up and showers and dresses while we're still at the gym) he said, "Don't!" and pushed me away. In my more rational current frame of mind, I know he was just being assy, but it seems like he does that a lot, and this morning I couldn't take the rejection. I got upset and I hid it from him pretty well (he is incredibly unobservant), but Francisco told him he should apologize for hurting my feelings, and he did, but he didn't even seem sure of what he was apologizing for. Dangling participle. So anyway, I will have to talk to him when I get home and establish a new rule that if I hug him and he doesn't want to be hugged, he should just say so, rather than be all pissy and shovey, and if he says not to hug him at any given time, I won't get upset about it. We'll shake on it and that will be that. [crosses arms, genie-style, and nods once for emphasis]

And that goddamn bus didn't show this morning, AGAIN. I really hope the school sends home some kind of evaluation form for the writing program, because I want to tell them how badly they're running things, and it will be great if they actually ask for the feedback rather than me writing a cranky letter on my own. Which I have been known to do.

I love to write letters of complaint--it used to be sort of a hobby for me. I think I'll resurrect that hobby; why not? I like to keep copies of the letters I send and then staple the replies to them. The problem I face in writing most of my complaint letters is that I generally tend to complain about things other people don't find irksome, and it makes me look crazy. An example of this: A couple years ago I wrote a letter to the Ferrara Pan Candy Company, telling them that I noticed their Atomic Fireball formula seems to have changed, because the Fireballs are hotter and you can't bite them (unless you want to break your teeth). I knew as I was writing the letter that they were going to dismiss my complaint, but doggone it, I used to like those Fireballs. I kept them in my office and would offer them to people who came to see me--I would say, "Fireball?", while proferring the dish, and I miss doing that. But I digress. Ferrara Pan sent me a letter saying, basically, that they would look into it, and that was it. You know what? I think I will write to them and ask them if their Fireball investigation yielded any information. I will make copies of my orginal letter and their reply and send those with my new letter. It makes me giggle just to think about it, so I will Have to do it. I'll let you know if they send a reply.

I'm getting increasing pressure from Francisco to be naked to watch him run the naked 5K next month. He has gone so far as to say that he thinks nudity will be reQUIRed, but I think he's just saying that. Still, I'm kind of considering it. I mean, when will I get another chance to be naked in a crowd of naked people? Never, if I can help it. I think a big hat would be a good nudist accessory--what do you think? Any of you ever gone to a nudist farm? With what does one accessorize at a nudist farm? Somehow I don't think Miss Manners covers this in her books.

I read a super-good diary yesterday--really really good. I strongly advise you to check out this diary, it's very worthwhile. She wrote an entry about how she and a friend did what sounds like a performance-art piece in college, consisting of both of them stripped to their underwear, while he played his saxophone and she read aloud, dramatically, from her junior high or high school diaries (can't remember which). Is that not brilliant? Wouldn't you have loved to be there? I just think that's an amazingly geniusy thing, but perhaps I am easily impressed.

The verdict is in: No one is interested in hearing me say "Come on Shelley". It kills me that I thought anyone would be; I am such a funny dufus.

One last thing--it's been very hot here (as it is in most places) lately, and one of my coworkers who outranks me has worn shorts to work three days this week. I figure anything she does, I can do (since she outranks me and all), so this morning I wore shorts, and wouldntcha know, this morning my boss decided to pop into the office. He'd been gone the whole week and he came in for half an hour this morning, saw me wearing shorts, and denounced them. I pointed out that 1) he said we could wear shorts and 2) my coworker has worn them this week (including today), and 3) that I didn't have any appointments on my calendar today. He said that he meant knee-length walking shorts, that he hasn't seen my coworker today, and made no comment about me not having appointments today. So basically I can't wear shorts to work anymore, because I do not own knee-length walking shorts and do not intend to purchase them, but I bet my coworker continues to wear her shorts (which btw are not the "walking" type the boss specified) without inciting any comment. My boss sure enjoys having different standards for different people. Have I mentioned he's an ass? Just needed to vent that--thanks.

Okay lovies, talk to you later,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify