He'd be an excellent Kaga

2001-06-04

I had the best idea a few minutes ago. I'm going to see if I can talk The Boy into being Chairman Kaga (from Iron Chef) for Halloween this year. Boy thinks Kaga is really funny, with the capes and the yellow pepper biting, so I stand a good chance of talking him into it. If he says yes, I will get started on his cape right away; it'll be so over the top.

I saw Iron Chef a couple times this weekend, but the Bobby Flay rematch was on last night and I taped it to watch tonight. I found out Bobbie Flay won, which ticks me off because I detest him, but I will enjoy seeing the rematch nonetheless.

And speaking of chefs in general, this morning Francisco, Boy and I were talking about household chores and how at our house we don't assign chores along gender lines. Francisco does most of the cooking, but as Boy said, it used to be that women always did the cooking. And I agreed, but then asked him why he thought it was that women have done all the home cooking but so many men have become known as great chefs. He thought a minute and said, "Men want all the glory." He's a smart smart boy, don't you think?

Francisco and I didn't end up seeing Memento on Friday night. We got a big thunderstorm that evening and we decided it was a good night to stay in and be cozy [Boy spent the night at his friend's]. For dinner Francisco procured some crackers and strawberries and little cookies to add to our supply of wine and cheese, and it was a nice little nibbly dinner. The cheese was awful, though. It was an herbed goat cheese, and normally I love goat cheese, but something was wrong with this cheese. It was bitter and weird and nasty. Disappointing. Francisco rented Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, which I've wanted to see forEVer, and I have to say it wasn't too great. I enjoyed Johnny Depp and Benicio's performances, but there was very little plot, and it was just not a great movie. Still I'm glad I saw it. Wow, Benicio looked so different--he amazes me with his ability to become different people. He's going to have an exciting career, for sure.

Saturday Boy was really tired and cranky. We picked him up in the morning and took him to his Aikido class. His class happens to be in the gym Francisco and I go to, so we exercised while Boy flipped and chopped people, and then we went home where I made lunch and packed the Boy off to bed for a nap. While he slept, his friend called and wanted him to go swimming that afternoon, so we woke him up earlier than planned and he went swimming. While he was gone I was planning to get a ton of stuff done, but I had only done one load of laundry and cleaned the upstairs bathroom when my friend, Michelle, called. She and I talked for more than 3 hours (glad I wasn't paying for that call) and got caught up from several months of no communication. It was fun to talk to her; we talked about just about every subject and laughed a lot.

I'm out of time for writing and I don't have a lot to report now anyway, so I bid you adieu.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify