Vague haunting mass appeal

2001-05-23

First: Oh those golden grahams! Oh those golden grahams! Crispy, crunchy graham cereal, family breakfast treat! Oh those golden grahams! Oh those golden grahams! Golden honey (just a touch) with graham's golden wheat!

So glad to get that off my chest, or more accurately, out of my brain.

There is a spider in my keyboard. Will this cause a problem? I can't bring myself to care. With all the aggravating computer problems I've been having today, a spider is almost a plus.

This morning at the gym I pedalled the recumbent bike and read the new US magazine. The cover story on the magazine was Colby and Tina of Survivor II and how their niceness was so different from the first Survivor, etc etc blah blah blah. There were numerous pictures of them hugging or touching or cheek kissing, and I can't help but think Tina's husband must be a little ticked about that. I'm sure he trusts her and all, but even still, the pictures imPLY Colby and Tina are more than just friends, even if no one is saying it. Stupid prurient US Magazine.

I had a dream this morning that the cops suspected me and my household of polyandry, and were trying to con their way into the house to gather evidence. They tried over and over and we had to keep all the doors locked constantly. We thought it was kind of funny, because we do not have a polyandrous family, so the police's efforts to get into our house were amusing. Also I dreamed that a possum got into the house and started having babies. It had possum babies but also kittens and one puppy (that was one proMIScuous possum). Then it birthed a plastic toy firetruck. For real. And then it tried to leave all the babies and the firetruck in my house and I was trying to persuade it to stick around and nurse them. Except the firetruck; it didn't seem hungry. I don't recall how the dream ended, but as you can see, it was entertaining, at least.

Here is a confession: I go through periodic craft/sewing binges. These binges are getting fewer and farther between as I get older, but because of the binges I have boxes of craft supplies, books, and fabric bits. Some of the fabric is just scraps, but I have some that is in multi-yard amounts. I kind of like sewing, but I totally suck at it. Totally. Everything I make has some obvious flaw in it, which is why I have basically stopped sewing at all. The hardest thing I ever made was probably the best thing I ever made--it was a Vogue pattern wrap jumper, fully-lined. It came out pretty good because the flaw happened to be on the part that wrapped under the top part, so not visible to anyone. I like having the sewing machine because I can hem and fix things quickly and well, but I don't think I will try to make garments for awhile. I will take sewing lessons first, because I never did that; I just taught myself. Hence all the poor workmanship I turn out.

Regarding the craft stuff, I'm okay at that, but there aren't many crafts that appeal to me. I do not care for country-style things and I do not care for rhinestone-studded sneakers or sweatshirts and things of that nature. So many crafty things are just tacky, can I just say it? Lavalamp and I have done craft things together, but for some reason when we try to be crafty together, whatever we are making turns out really horrible. Which is kind of funny, actually, but a little vexing too. She made some cool soaps for Xmas gifts and it got me thinking of making soaps, but I haven't tried it yet. There are directions for some Really cool resin coasters at Atomictonic and I would like to make those, but I couldn't find all the necessary supplies at the craft store, and plus, resin is exPENsive! So no crafts for awhile. I've been thinking about this today because I'm going to purge my craft and fabric stuff for the yard sale on Saturday, and will hopefully get rid of the stuff I've never used. That might alleviate the guilt of my allowing it to lie fallow in boxes, untouched by human hands since the date of purchase.

I will close by saying that The Boy is so obsessed with Jackie Chan. Some friends of ours visited last month and brought him Jackie Chan's authorized biography, and his brain is now a wealth of Jackie Chan trivia. He never tires of telling me about Jackie Chan's childhood in the Chinese Opera or of his longstanding friendship with Samo Hung. I am good at pretending to care, but I hope he will soon tire of telling me the same Jackie Chan facts over and over again. I kind of wish our friends had brought him something else instead of that book. A mouth harp or fireman's ax would even be preferable.

Ooh, ooh! The Drive song is on the radio! Bye sweetpeas,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify