Cristina needs a burrito

2001-05-17

I saw the video for that Moulin Rouge song, and can I just say how puny and undernourished Cristina Aguilera looks compared to those other gorgeous women in the video? Francisco was watching it and really appreciating the women (he is such a man), but when it was that poor little Cristina's turn to gyrate for the cameras, he wasn't too impressed. More and more I am coming to terms with my own non-skinniness. Not that I want to remain at the weight I'm at now, but I don't want to be a size 4 either.

On the radio this morning I heard an ad talking about the new NC seatbelt law crack-down. The NC police will be running a series of dragnets, and anyone driving a car in which someone is not wearing their seatbelt will be ticketed. The ad said, "Last year in North Carolina, over 200 people died for one simple reason; they were not wearing their seatbelts." Apparently the freaking CAR CRASHES had nothing to do with it. I'm sure the NC police are concerned with saving lives, but I am sure they are also concerned about revenue, and I bet that is at least 51% of the motivation behind this seatbelt thing. I can't get too worked up over the seatbelt issue, because if someone dies in a crash from not wearing their seatbelt, then perhaps it is a modern-day "survival of the fittest" and our society won't suffer from being without them. My apologies to anyone who has lost a non-seatbelt wearing loved-one in an accident. I am sure your personal loved-one was an exception to the Darwinian rule.

Our neighborhood is having an enormous yard sale on the 26th, and I am pretty excited about it. I plan to comb every inch of the house and purge all the things we do not use or want. If it doesn't sell then it goes to Goodwill or something. I am particularly looking forward to purging the Boy's room, because it is chock full of useless crap he never plays with, and Boy is looking forward to getting money for stuff he no longer wants. He has unrealistic price ideas, but I will set him straight.

The purge will be an excellent time to do some spring cleaning as well. Since I will be looking through everything I might as well dust and vacuum and scrub and etc.

Okay. Every morning there are a couple of people who come in to clean the office. One of them I have already talked about--she is the woman whose life is more miserable than anyone else's. The other one is a nice enough man, but he and I always--ALWAYS--have the same conversation when he empties my trash. It goes a little something like this:

HIM: Good morning; how are you today?

ME: Pretty good, how about yourself?

HIM: Oh I'm fine, can't complain. [pause while dumping my trash bin] You have a good day now.

ME: Thank you, you too.

I can't tell you how weary I am of this conversation, and there have been times I have tried to throw in a conversational wildcard--innovative gems such as, "did you watch the game last night?" or "how do you like this weather?". I invariably get annoyed with myself for not being able to come up with anything better, and I have quit trying. Any conversational suggestions? Anyone?

I didn't go to the gym yesterday morning, so I decided to go last night and do step aerobics. I hadn't done a step class for months, and I must say it really kicked my ass. I use totally different muscles with the step than I do just pedalling a bike or walking on a treadmill. I thought I would be in pain today, but luckily I'm not so I guess I'm not as out of shape as I was thinking last night as I sweated and heaved my way through that class. Paints a real pretty picture, doesn't it?

Gotta go now--kissy-kissy,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify