Does this make me a conspiracy theorist?

2001-05-11

Well I just don't know where to start. First of all, someone just got to my diary through a google search for "syphillus", which confused and alarmed me for a minute until I remembered that the word had been in a Strangers With Candy quote I used awhile back. Also, yesterday there was a google search for "itchy nipple", and I thought that was amusing.

The Boy is sick today. He woke up feeling worse than he has been (his allergies are acting up) so we took his temperature and it was almost 100, so no school for him. He must be getting Francisco's flu. Poor guy--he was supposed to go home with a friend after school to spend the night, so that's off too. That kid is great. Last night he and I played a little Koosh and he said the most diplomatic thing ever. Francisco had been playing with him and then I took over, and I wasn't very good at it. I said to him, "I guess it's more fun to play with Francisco", and he said, "No; if you round up to the nearest ten, you're Equally fun to play with". Also, last night he was supposed to be getting ready for bed but he was upstairs yelling down to us about this and that, so we had the following exchange:

Me: "What are you doing?"

Him: (not missing a beat) "Prancing around naked"

I feel that speaks for itself in funniness.

Okay, so on to other things. Yesterday evening I found out that our neighbor has the voice of a muppet. I didn't know what his voice sounded like because I had never talked to him, but I heard him outside talking to a different neighbor, and he sounds exactly like a muppet. Like Kermit, a little. I was moving my hand in a puppety way while he talked, and I think I need to make a homemade muppet to keep around for just such an occasion.

This morning on the way home from the gym I figured something out. This is not something that has occurred to me before, but now that it has it makes perfect sense. You know how gasoline is supposed to go up to $3/gallon this summer? I realized that the price increase is being completely orchestrated by Dubya and Cheney and the oil companies SO THAT by the end of the summer Americans will be clamoring for the feds to open up drilling in the Alaskan Oil Reserve. Right now it is not a popular idea, since it will wreck the pristine landscape, but Dubya and Cheney really want to open up drilling there, so they've cooked this up with the oil companies. They are oil men themselves, and hey, the two of them would benefit big time, as would, of course, the oil companies, who will receive a lot of money for their part in the collusion. I'm totally serious about this. I mean, have we been given a good reason why gas prices are rising? No we have not. It's a sham, pure and simple. Those sons of bitches--I'm onto them. I wish it would be possible to refuse to buy gas, but since I have to get to work I don't see how I can boycott it. They've got us by the short hairs, which is a phrase I have never used before, but now that I have I think I like it.

I did the gym again this morning so that makes every day this week. I will go tomorrow and then make Sunday my day of rest. That should please the Amish, though they will of course object to my proud buttons.

I get some weird notions in my head sometimes. Wednesday morning at the gym there was a new guy there, who seemed to be part of the bulking-up weightlifting crowd. I have never seen him before and he just kind of hung out on the fringes of the bulkers and lifted his weights, and then he was gone but I didn't see him leave. I suddenly started to wonder if he was invisible to everyone but me, and if he had just disappeared into the air. I was trying to remember if any of the bulkers had talked to him and I can't remember, so now I think maybe he's a ghost. I'm not nuts, I don't really beLIEve he's a ghost, but I wonder about that kind of thing. Another recurring odd notion I have happens when I am in a public place with Francisco and he goes out of sight for a minute and then I can't find him (usually just in grocery stores when he goes to find something we missed). When that happens I start to think that maybe he was a delusion after all, that I have spent 12 years of my life hallucinating him. I feel sad at those moments at the idea that I dreamed him up, but then he comes back with the black beans or whatever he'd gone off for, and I am happy to see (or hallucinate, whichever) him again.

The fabulous Catie has been working on the new diary layout she is making for me. I've seen a preliminary version of it, and let me tell you, she is an artistic genius. It is lovely and I am really looking forward to having it up. It's quite a switch from the orange so you'll definitely notice the difference. Woo-Hoo!

I think I'll have to write another entry this afternoon. If for some reason I am unable to do that, have a great weekend and maybe you could hoard gasoline so that you don't have to buy it when it's $3/gallon. Is that illegal? If anyone knows, email me or tell me through the guestbook.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify