but what about the CHILdren?!!

2001-05-10

Can I just say, I am So Tired of being tailgated by minivans. I am tailgated by many vehicles every day, but the minivans really make me cranky. It would take too long to describe in full detail why it makes me so mad, but I think it's the whole parentizing of America thing. It seems that many parents consider themselves more important than people without children, and though I do have the Boy, it is a different situation and I sort of still consider myself to be childless in a way, even though I'm not. So when I'm tailgated by a minivan I just see it as another way parents feel they should have priority, like, "Get off the road, can't you see I'm in a minivan?!" I don't know, just a chip on my shoulder I guess. Feel free to disagree, but gripe amongst yourselves; I do not want email about this. Love you!

Despite the minivans I find myself enjoying my morning commute nowadays. I am taking back roads because they're more convenient when I'm taking the Boy to school, and I'm happy I have an automatic transmission. Our last car had manual, and I was loathe to switch to an automatic because I didn't want to forget how to drive a manual. That concern was unfounded--our truck is a manual and I had no trouble driving it the first time, even though it had been two years since we bought the new car and junked the old one. But I digress, bigtime. Anyway, on my commute I am driving on the backroads, with my coffee and my toasted bagel with just a smidge of butter, listening to my favorite radio station, and it's extremely pleasant. It would not be as pleasant with a manual transmission because I would have to put my bagel down at stop signs, and nobody wants that.

I am about to reveal what a terrible, shallow human being I am, for real. Last night the Boy wanted to watch the Guiness Book of World Records show (don't ask) so we were all watching it and they showed a man who had been born with only a thumb and one finger on his left hand. This was no problem for me, no big deal. HowEVer, the story was about how this man accidentally cut off his one finger on that hand with a power saw [okay, if you had only one finger on a hand, wouldn't you take pains to protect it?], and THEN had two toes cut off his feet (one from each foot I think) and attached to that hand. This is where I got grossed out in a big way. They showed him gripping things with the toe hand and even massaging his wife's neck with the toe hand, and I just wanted to wriggle out of my skin and crawl under the sofa. They were even calling it the 'toe hand'. His hand was fine when it was just missing a few fingers, but you put toes on there and I just can't take it--MAjor squeamishness. On a scale of one to ten, how bad of a person does this make me? Feel free to cast your vote on my guestbook; all votes shall be final. [whatever that means]

I am drinking diet mountain dew right now, which puts me one more small notch up on the southern girl-o-meter. I made a mental note this morning to tell you something southern people say that you would never hear a northern person say. Instead of saying [made-up example] "I might be able to do that", some southern people, not all, say, "I might could do that". "Might could" is something I hear all the time, and I enjoy it, but I don't think I would ever say it, unless I was just in my southern person alter-ego.

The Boy got a new clock radio and I got his old clock radio (the trickle-down effect) which was still quite new, and I brought my old clock radio to work so I could listen to the radio all day. And since this is my first experience with listening to the radio All Day Long, I am dismayed to find just how much repetition there is. I don't mind with the songs I really like, but U2 and the Dave Matthews Band are really driving me nuts. I don't know what it is with Dave Matthews' voice that bothers me, but I just don't like it, it grates on me. It's like John Popper's voice, it has the same grating quality. I am sure Dave Matthews is a wonderful person and all that, but his voice gives me the shivers.

I actually have more to talk about today than there is time for, but let me just say that when microwave popcorn is made in this office, you can smell it everywhere. Which is fine. But when the butter smell starts to fade a little it smells rank and mouse turdy. It is nauseous. That is all.

Until next time,

E

PS PS PS PS--I cannot beLIEve I almost forgot to tell you this, because I am very excited about it and it is Such a nice thing! Catie emailed me with a very kind offer to design a new look for my diary! She knows I don't speak any html, only what she has taught me, and she is the most generous person in the world, so she is going to make my diary look nice. I am so grateful to her, because even though *I* like the orange, I know it's not everyone's cup o'tea, and catie is going to fix all that. Definitely read her diary, if you don't already, because she is one terrific broad. So to speak. |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify