Is that Real plastic?

2001-05-07

Francisco said something good to me this afternoon, via email. He said I need to stop being so self-deprecating in my diary about how my entry is boring or whatever. And he's right, because even if I feel boring, that doesn't necessarily mean my entry is. And even if the entry Is boring, if people don't notice, why should I point it out? I am stopping that self-deprecating thing as of this minute. I'm stopping at the end of the sentence I'm writing right now. Period!!

Why does candy have to be so delicious?! I currently have an empty place in my soul that can be filled only by a Mounds bar. I must resist, or I will never lose those pesky extra pounds. I am actively trying to lose weight, but I have decided that there is little chance I can maintain a 1200 calorie/day diet. I have lost weight that way in the past, but for some reason it is too hard to stick to anything that deprivational lately. I figure if I go to the gym 6 days a week and deny myself huge meals and extra things, like Mounds bars for instance, those stubborn pounds will have no choice but to go somewhere else. And with my sister-in-law pregnant, I figure now is my big chance. See, I have a superstitious belief that when one person loses weight, another person must, by necessity, be gaining it. Since my sister-in-law pretty much Has to gain weight with her pregnancy, I would think I could shed some of my extra pounds and let the cosmic forces sort out getting them to her. I don't know whose weight I've received in the past year or so, but I must say I didn't volunteer for that and I think it was very rude of someone to lose weight and send it my way without telling me.

When I was a teenager, the local convenience store (and btw, I grew up in a town with a population of less than 2000) was selling 32 ounce sodas in containers that weren't like regular soda cups. Basically they didn't have lids, per se; the top of the cup folded up and was held together by a slide-on white plastic clip. Inexplicably, these clips caught on as a trend. People figured out how to fasten them together and make bracelets and necklaces out of them, and I swear to god it was a sign of coolness to have this clip jewelry. I remembered that today and I was thinking about how ridiculous that is, but mostly I was thinking about a 32 ounce diet coke and feeling thirsty. I wonder if those cups were sold everywhere or if it was just my town. If they Were everywhere, were teenagers in other parts of the U.S. fastening those clips together for prestige? There is probably no way I will ever know.

I am very happy today, go figure.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify