my bum is on the chair

2001-05-07

Holy crap, I just made a banner for my diary and it was really fun! I don't know if anyone will click on it, but if they don't at least I learned how to do that banner thing. Knowledge is power.

I did a brave thing on Sunday; I went bra shopping. I don't do that often, and consequently the bra section in any given store is like a foreign country to me. There is always a dizzying array of new styles and colors, and I end up prowling through them, feeling like a lingerie anthropologist. I went about the bra shopping in my normal way--picking out tons of styles to whittle down to the lucky 3 or 4 that would go home with me. As usual I was told I could take in a maximum of 6, which was annoying. I said, "what should I do with the other million?", and was told I could leave them next to the checkout place. Okay, so I go into the dressing room and the contest begins. I tried each bra on and ran it through its paces. These would include the bending over test, the flinging arms around test, and (Francisco's favorite) the bouncing up and down test. I should mention I wear a D cup, so these tests are all quite necessary. I came to two conclusions right away. 1) A bra with totally elastic straps = bad. 2) I will never, ever again wear a "minimizer" bra. Minimizers hurt, and though they do give a nice perkiness, the discomfort is not worth it. Minimizers begone! I was annoyed at the salesperson when I had gone through the first round of contestants and went out to trade the losers for the second round of contestants. I put the losers in place of the new contestants, and she looked around at me and said, "You don't Want those?" Emphasis on 'want'. How many did she think I would buy, and where else should I have put them? I just said, "no", and went back in to finish up the bra competition. I bought 3, all off-white in various shades, and they are all comfortable and good. The bra shopping was the most interesting thing I did all weekend, so you can see how unexciting my Saturday and Sunday were. Not bad, just unexciting.

After work today I will be taking two large shopping bags of the Boy's clothes to the thrift store for donation. Reason: he is really growing! I made him try on practically all of his clothes last week, and the too small or short things went into the donation bags. He had some really funny pants in that closet. The pair of jeans that had been his favorite when he first came to live with us are now so tight and short that they resembled hoochi-mama capri pants when he put them on. We laughed a lot during the "fashion show" (which is what I was calling the trying-on, to make it sound more fun). He is going to be a tall, tall boy.

I want to share some of the google searches that have led people to my diary. Most of them aren't that amusing--the majority are searches containing 'authoritah' or 'tattoo' in some form or other. I got one search that was "chunky rings for sale", and another that was "baby animal milk", and I think the latter would be my favorite so far. I feel a little gypped that I never get any for things like "chubby female naked bodybuilders thong bikini", but maybe someday. A girl can dream, can't she?

So weekendwise, Saturday Francisco and I went to the local plant store and bought several more things for the yard. He planted most of them while I stayed inside out of the heat. He was going to wait so we could plant them together on Sunday morning (when it was cool), but he changed his mind. I did some housework but nothing strenuous. We went to his mom's for dinner Saturday night and we rented Miss Congeniality. A decidedly mediocre film, but with some good moments, and most importantly, a film we could all watch and enjoy. Sunday got up, had breakfast, read the paper, watched CBS Sunday morning, and then Francisco took the Boy out to do some target shooting. Yes, I know. I don't really like having the rifle, but it's kept securely locked up all the time, and Francisco was diligent about teaching the Boy gun safety and all the stuff. So they did the target thing and I did the bra thing and the rest of the day was a lot of being lazy because none of us is in the peak of health. I'm still a little sluggish from my illness, the Boy has allergies from hell, and Francisco is getting a cold.

But I went back to the gym this morning, and today begins the re-start of my 6 day per week gym regime. I am happy to get back to that schedule, and hopefully I will stick to it and not weasel out. Also, does anyone have any good recipes they'd like to share? I need to start doing at least half the cooking again, and it's been so long since I've done it that I have zero motivation. I can't even remember what the grocery stores sell (seriously--isn't that sad?) because I almost never do the shopping, so thinking of things to make is extra hard. No pressure, but if anyone wants to share a recipe, I would be happy to get it.

I really couldn't tell you why I am so lackluster today, but I am and this entry reflects that. Sorry. Have a great day and I'll talk to you tomorrow.

Love!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify