La agua caliente es MUY caliente.

2001-04-30

Oh people. I had the most delightfully sloth-like weekend. I mean, I did things, but in between the things were large stretches of nothingness that could only be filled by the TVLand A-Team marathon. I am not kidding. Francisco and I watched the A-Team when we were kids and liked it, so when we discovered that the whole weekend was an A-Team marathon, we couldn't help but devote a lot of free time to it. And it was fascinating. When you're a kid you don't know how bad a show is, so getting to watch it as an adult is really fun. I still enjoyed several episodes of it, but I also saw ones I didn't see as a child--ones that were clearly made when the popularity of the show was waning and that were obviously meant as an attempt to breathe life into a dying series. For instance--and this is my favorite example--I saw a show that featured special guest star Boy George. The plot (and I use the term loosely) showed Boy George and Culture Club playing at a cowboy bar while the A-Team foiled some would-be robbers. There was Lots of interaction between Boy George and the members of the A-Team, and it was all incredibly painful. I loved it. There was another episode that Hulk Hogan guest-starred in, and that one hurt too. I feel that the series was fun at first, but then it turned into a long, slow-motion trainwreck. Francisco tired of the marathon before I did, but it became too much for even me to bear after a few hours yesterday. Still I was glad to have the chance to do nothing and to watch something I haven't seen in years. Unbelievable. I searched for "The A-Team" on Google and found this site, in case you're interested.

I did a leetle shopping this weekend. Went to Walmart and bought some sandals (brown slides, real leather) a skirt, and a shirt. Francisco and the boy both got sandals. We also went to Target and got a lamp and a clock-radio for the boy. We Also went to the mall and got a vase and some indoor-growing bamboo that is gorgeous. It was fun to shop but I was sick of it when we were done.

Yesterday I rolled out of bed and went into the living room and started to tell Francisco a dream I'd had, and he said, "Wait--come with me to get a paper. I dare you to come outside just like that and get a paper with me. I Dare you.". So naturally I said okay and we drove to the nearby convenience store for a Sunday paper. I was in my robe, wearing my [thick] glasses, and my hair was all sticking up, as is its way in the morning. I was a little embarrassed, but essentially I didn't care. I will now have to think up a comparable dare for Francisco.

I really like Crazy Town's Butterfly song. Also, have you seen the video for REM's Imitation of Life? How the hell did they film that? I'm mad at VH1 because this morning I saw the video again, on VH1, and they flashed a little thing that said something like, "to find out more about how this video was filmed, visit VH1.com". I went there this morning and could find nothing, Nothing! Stupid VH1.

So, the dinner on Friday night for Francisco's students went really well. About 20 people showed up and they were more interesting than I had anticipated. The food was good and I drank only 2 beers but felt fairly loopy anyway. Probably the whole empty stomach thing. To digress a moment, I don't understand why people say not to drink on an empty stomach, when you can get more tipsy on an empty stomach and save yourself some calories. I guess if your whole focus is to not get drunk, then by all means eat something, but if that's your focus, then wouldn't it just be easier to not drink in the first place? Seems fairly straightforward to me. I have recently decided to drink less anyway; not because I feel I have a drinking problem or anything, but because I get so dehydrated when I drink. I hate that dehydrated feeling. I can never force myself to drink a lot of water after having a couple glasses of wine or beer, and I end up all parched. Not good.

We went out to breakfast yesterday morning, which I Love, and I had 2 eggs over easy, with toast and bacon and home fries. I tell you, there is nothing like a good breakfast to give you a sense of well-being. The boy had the same thing as I did except with an English muffin, and the only thing he Didn't eat was half his muffin. I just know he's going to go into that teenage boy eating phase soon. How will I keep enough food in the house? We already go through more than a gallon of milk per week, and we are people who used to (pre-boy) buy milk in half gallons that would spoil before we could finish them.

I didn't teach the Boy how to do laundry this weekend as planned, because I didn't want to tear him away from playing yesterday. I told him we needed to reschedule for Monday and he agreed. A milestone: this morning he got up when his new clock-radio went off. It is the first time he has ever done that--we have previously always woken him up. Huzzah!

Well, that's all I have to say, so bye for now and watch out because the strep throat is going around.

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify