Is that a holster or are you just glad to see me?

2001-04-25

I wish it were socially acceptable for me to wear a holster. Not one containing a gun; oh my, no. I would want one I could carry my coffee cup in, and a stapler, and a pad and pen or, preferably, one of those cheesy recorders I could speak my thoughts into. I'm sure I could find all sorts of things to go into my socially acceptable holster, but I guess for now it's just a pipe dream, since wearing a holster would make me look unprofessional and dufusy. Or maybe even crazy. A tempting thought...

If there is ever an Olympic event called The Upright Coffin Leg-Shave, I will surely win the gold. The showers at my gym are very small and claustraphobia-inducing, but I still manage to shave my legs in there. I'm really good at it, actually--I'm thinking of turning pro.

And speaking of my gym, there are a group of guys at the gym who keep changing the radio station from the good alternative rock one I like to one that plays hits from the 80s. We're talking The Cars, a younger Madonna, Van Halen, Prince, etc. This makes me cringe, since the songs they play are ones I remember vividly from high school dances. I feel the station's slogan should be Music for a Darkened Gymnasium.

It's raining today--it rained quite hard when I was on my way to work. I don't own an umbrella anymore--the Boy lost it on a field trip. I have thought of buying a new one, but I feel that the running I do from the car to my office is too beneficial to give up. It's not like the rain is going to ruin my hair, since it was pre-ruined for my convenience. That chunk out of the left side is filling in now, by the way. The hair is looking a lot better, but it won't be ready for another cut for at least a month, maybe two.

Francisco and I went out to lunch today (Vietnamese...mmmmm...), and he overheard something at the next table that he passed along to me. Two women were talking, and one said, "Is there any way you can tell from the placenta whether someone has been using cocaine?" I don't even want to think about why that would be necessary. People are bad.

I am continuously amazed by other peoples' genius. Not-a-finger amazes me every time I read her. I always gasp when I read her, because she always comes up with unexpected things and they're brilliant; she's So Good. I also love andrew, of course, because he is very funny and goofy and smart. You know, it's kind of sad, but I really depend on reading my diaryland favorites--I almost feel I know some of them, and it comforts me when they update. Poor tattoobelly, so lonely, so in need of comforting.... Do you feel sorry for me?

I found out that the weird bird at my feeder is a cowbird. I emailed my friend Kimberly's dad--he is a major bird freak (though I mean that in the best possible way)--and he knew what it was just from the description. He says that cowbirds don't make nests, that instead they lay their eggs in other bird's nests, and since cowbirds are larger than many other birds, they end up pushing the other baby birds out of the nest. Is it just me or is that really vicious? I'll tell you, nature is a bitch.

Okay, so that's all for now; I will update again tomorrow. Talk to you then, chickadees,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify