Tsunami? No problem.

2001-04-18

I am afraid of tsunamis. I love the California coast and I would love to live there except that California, as everyone knows, is prone to earthquakes (Ring of Fire, bay-bay). I fear that if we lived on the CA coast, there would be an offshore earthquake that would cause a huge tsunami and Francisco, the Boy, and I would be crushed/drowned by it. Last night I was thinking that if we lived on the CA coast I could build an emergency catapault in my backyard, and if a tsunami was coming we could run to the backyard with lifejackets on and catapault ourselves up at a key moment so that we'd be on top of the wave when it hit, thus avoiding being crushed/drowned. The catapault would be along the lines of those giant rubberband rides at the fair, where you rocket up into the sky, except at the fair you're strapped in and wouldn't fly out of the ride to get the better of a tidal wave. But you could, if you didn't strap yourself in. I'm not describing that well, but if you've ever seen the giant rubberband ride, you'll know what I'm talking about.

We had Such A Good Time with our friends last night. They are so fun to have around. For one thing, they are very appreciative of good food, and Francisco and I (mostly Francisco) made an excellent meal. Grilled pork chops, smashed red potatoes with fresh chives, green bean salad with some kind of Asian dressing and white and black sesame seeds (Francisco made that), cucumber salad, and rosemary bread. Easter candy for dessert. Another reason our friends are so great to have over is they are extremely entertaining. Chris, the guy, is a master at combining words for maximum funniness. Maybe it was just the wine that made it funny, but he described some of the small, abnormal malted milk easter eggs as chewy, shriveled and decrepit, and this is just one small example of his wordsmanship. He did that all night and his talent stunned me all over again. He has a very quick and imaginative mind. I told him he should write and he said he would like to, so when he gets something published I will definitely be talking it up. I really wished we lived near our friends again, and hopefully we will someday. I don't think I mentioned it, but the way I met Chris was he was the good friend of an ex-boyfriend. Don't know where that ex-boyfriend is now, but I'm glad Chris is still our friend.

It's so amazing the way people drift in and out of our lives, if I may be philosophical for a moment. I think there must be unseen forces at work in the universe; forces that push us in different directions so that we meet people when we should meet them, or receive opportunities when we should receive them. I equate these with eddies in an otherwise still pond, gently pushing us one way or another, without our knowledge. Eh, I'm a lousy philosopher--I can't say things the way I want to say them.

Topic change--I need help from those of you who know anything about birds. I've had a bird at my feeder several times today, and I have no idea what kind it is. I saw it before, last week, and I consulted my bird guide, but it wasn't in there. Has a black body and brown head. Its eyes are dark brown or black, and its beak is black. It's about 6-7 inches long, including its tail, and it does a thing where it can swell at will. Like, it puffs itself up, and not just the feathers. I think it was doing it when it perceived other birds approaching the feeder. Anyone know what this bird is? I mean, it won't make a difference in my appreciation of the bird, but it would be nice to know.

Myron (my visiting cardinal) has a wife, and I decided to name her Sylvia. She seems very nice.

It kept snowing, off and on, all day yesterday, and I think I may need to replant my tomatoes and basil. Francisco put pots over them, but it was so windy the pots blew off during the night. I guess April 15 is not really the last frost date for NC. Liars.

Bye for now, and don't forget to read catiecake today--she is So Great!

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify