I am a lazy, lazy woman

2001-04-09

First of all, today is apparently the kick-off to Yellow Pollen Days 2001. I don't even know the species of trees that cause this, but for about a week every April, there is yellow pollen covering EVerything, and it makes me stuffy. Stuffy, I say! I left the office to go to the mall at lunch and there it was, on every car; no warning or anything. Ah nature.

In other nature news, the wisteria is blooming, and that is definitely a good thing. So pretty...so fragrant... Also, it is hot as shit here right now (high 80's, w/ humidity). Every year at about this time I think about buying oven mitts to keep in the car, because the steering wheel burns my hands, and every year I don't do it. That is basically because I am a lazy slackass. Just so you know.

Friday I was driving home, via the video store place, and I passed the XXX Video/Book/other store. I just want to mention how ridiculous it is that the XXX place recently put an 8 foot fence around the store and parking lot--assumedly to make shopping there more discreet for their customers--and then painted the fence a screaming fire engine red. How is that more discreet? I notice that place now Much more than I did before.

A random observation:

Shredded bark = good

Chipped bark = bad

So, the weekend. Friday night the Boy had a friend spend the night and I rented the Best movie. You'll be skeptical, but just bear with me. It's an old movie (black and white) called No Time for Sergeants, and it stars a young Andy Griffith. I know, I know; you're saying to yourself, "Who, Matlock?", and I wouldn't blame you. I rented it primarily because there were no good kid movies for rent and it seemed harmless and is about the army, with which boys are fascinated. And the boys did like it, but so did Francisco and I. Andy Griffith plays an earnest, good hearted, and kind of dimwitted guy who enlists in the army, and I have to say, he is damn good in that role. Seriously, go rent it if you're in the mood for an older comedy, because it's worth it.

Saturday we worked in the yard. I cleaned some stuff out of the yard and painted the railing on our front steps, plus did laundry and various other chores. I had the idea to invite a couple of neighbor boys who were playing with the boy to stay for dinner, and I really don't know what I was thinking. They can be nice boys, but the younger is So Loud. They were all hyper and barely ate any of the steak fajitas we'd fixed, and I am declaring Never Again. No more of those boys staying to dinner.

Sunday Francisco did a lot of work on the deck--he cleaned the mildew off and painted a stain on. He ran out before it was done, so he'll have to get another can, but it looks good and will be great once it's all done. I continued with some indoor chores and didn't get too far because I was hot and cranky and pmsy. Sunday afternoon we took the boy to see Spy Kids, which he'd been clamoring for since he first say the trailer in December. It was okay, better than I thought it would be, but Francisco and I are both so tired of seeing movies in which kids are heroic and do amazing feats of strength and intelligence. It's really annoying to see kids in movies lionized as heroes when what Real kids do is lay around at home complaining about the dinner you took 2 hours to make, and whining if you ask them to take out the garbage. I speak from personal experience. So yeah, it was okay, but I didn't enjoy it much.

I wore sandals to work today, with a toe ring. I know it's only April, but if the weather is going to act like it's summer, I'm going to dress like it's summer.

I feel chatty and could probably write more, but my lunch hour is over and I have calls to return.

Later babies,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify