Her name was Lola, she was a showgirl

2001-04-05

Have I talked about the Boy's complete tone-deafness? Yeah, he can't sing. At all. But he thinks he's the next Frank Sinatra. We haven't told him the truth yet because we're afraid of squashing his youthful exuberance, but we're going to karaoke again this weekend, so I've been thinking about his tone deafness. The karaoke we're going to is at a restaurant, not a bar--the Boy went with us the one other time we were there, and he insisted on singing songs with Francisco and a few friends we were with. It was pretty funny. Later we asked the Boy why he didn't put the microphone closer to his mouth and he said he tried that, but every time there was some "weird voice" coming out. I guess that was our big opening to gently say, "that's Your voice, honey", but we didn't take it. How old should a child be to receive the news that his singing voice makes dogs howl and sensitive people bleed from the ears? I don't know so I think I'll hold off on telling him for as long as I can. I personally don't have such a great singing voice, but at least I can usually carry a tune. I'm trying to work up the nerve to sing Copacabana at karaoke, because that's gotta be the best, most cheesy karaoke song ever. Ever! What I love most about karaoke is being able to shout things like, "Shake your moneymaker, baby!" at complete strangers. LOVE it.

Later,

E

|

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify