Medusa

2001-04-02

I met my friend, Kim, at TJ Maxx during lunch, and we saw these women who made me very happy. They were like the southern version of Patsy and Edwina, the Ab Fab ladies; it was too much! I was saying to Kim that maybe she and I will be like that someday (these women were in their 40's, I'd estimate) and we got some amusement from the thought.

Didn't buy anything at TJ Maxx--saw a silver purse (or pocketbook, as Kim says) that I was tempted by, but decided to give it a miss. I wanted to find yellow napkins (a bright, sunny yellow) but of course they didn't have any. Maybe next time.

So, the beach! We had a great time. We walked in the sand and got our feet wet and ate good food and slept enough and read and laughed and did puzzles without finishing them. I collected a lot of shells that had been broken and tumbled in the surf until they were smooth and pretty colored and interestingly shaped. The shells are very thick, which makes me think the original shells they came from must be mighty big. And speaking of big, that was my hair this weekend. It's short hair, but with the humidity and wind, it was voluminous. Francisco laughed at it, he said it made me look crazy. They say the hair is the first sign. Anyway, the Boy saw the Atlantic for the first time and discovered the dangers of salt water and wet shorts. Yes, it was his first experience with chafing, and he was not pleased. Francisco and I made risotto on Saturday night and it was good and not as tough to prepare as I've heard. We got some fresh shrimp and put that in there--MMM!

The house we were in was pretty amazing. It was two stories and right on the beach. It had a two level deck with steps right down onto the sand, or what would have been the sand if there wasn't so much beach erosion. As it was the steps ended about two feet above the sand, but they were still navigable. The house had two kitchens (with two ovens in the upstairs kitchen), two laundry rooms, 4 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms, two living rooms and a formal dining room. It is a million-dollar home that I wouldn't own for anything, because if the erosion problem doesn't get straightened out, that house won't be there for too many more years. Oh but it was nice to visit and I wish I was rich so I could let people use my nice beach house.

So yeah, back home and my legs are sore in all sorts of unexpected areas. Walking on sand uses lots of different, smaller muscles, and they're all letting me know it. I'm limping around like an old woman and it's pretty funny. Went to the gym this morning and that probably didn't help, but I needed the exercise because I didn't do That much walking this weekend.

I'm going to go now and eat my lunch. It's almost 4 but I haven't really been hungry yet. Had an apple earlier and that helped. Anywho, have a good night and be true to yourselves! (I think that phrase, "true to myself" is very made-for-television-movie)

Love,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify