I know I said I wasn't going to do it but I was wrong

2001-03-14

Okay, I know I just said I wasn't going to write another entry today, but a little thing happened that I can't resist. After posting my previous diaryland entry I went downstairs (I'm at work) to mark myself "IN" on the signboard, and the office was so quiet. Very very quiet and still, and I can't remember the last time it was like that during the workday. It seems that most people are at lunch because I couldn't see anyone downstairs at all. And here is the thing I wanted to report to you: Because of my years and years of brainwashing, er, indoctrination in Christian beliefs, the first thing that popped into my head when the quiet of the office registered itself on my brain was, "It's the rapture." Not, "everyone must be at lunch" or "I could take off all my clothes and run around", but "It's the rapture". Just when I think I'm out, they PULL me back in. It reminded me of the Northridge earthquake in 1994. We were in Pasadena then, and when the earthquake hit at 4 something in the morning and the bed started bouncing up and down, the first thoughts of both Francisco and I were not, "It's an earthquake!" but were instead "Demons!!"

I just think it's funny how old (very old) thought processes die hard. And no offense to Christian people, okay? |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify