The youngest one in curls

2001-03-13

Oh man. I just wrote a long entry and even uploaded a picture and then I lost it, I don't even know how. So now I have to start over, and I must say it kind of takes the wind out of my sails, so to speak. But I will try.

Remember how I told you about my sister, a few entries back? Well, I went to visit her last summer for a week, at the end of July, and it was a great time. She is periodically working on student and/or independent films as a makeup artist. She had never worked as a makeup artist before a year ago, but someone in her film program asked her if she had ever done it before and she lied and said yes. He asked her to do makeup for his film and she said sure, and then she researched the hell out of how to do makeup, particularly special effects makeup. She's pretty good, especially since she has no formal training. When we visited my parents at Xmas this past year, my sis brought her makeup kit and gave the whole family various wounds. We then all went next door and sang Jingle Bells (the Batman smells version) to the neighbors. I have pics I will scan and then you will see.

Anyway, I just digressed, basically. I went to visit her last summer, and while I was there she had to do a couple short days on an independent film (fairly low budget) so I got to accompany her to the set. I use "set" loosely, as it was a donut shop in Burbank. The owners of the shop didn't want to close down for the filming, even though the guy making the film offered them money, and customers kept walking in and ruining the filming by ordering crullers and the like. It was a tiny shop, so those of the crew who were not actually filming or being filmed had to stand outside. Did I mention it was the end of July? It was like a hundred degrees out there, so there was much hugging of the building to stay in the meager shade. Here is my sister making the best of a bad situation and powdering a shiny actor:

There were no "craft services" (food or beverages) those two days, so everyone starved and dehydrated between visits to the nearby Safeway store. I spent a lot of time in that store those two days; it was highly air-conditioned and had a bathroom. The donut place didn't have a bathroom.

My sis begged for us to be allowed in the donut store during the afternoon of the second day. There were fewer people on the set that day anyway, and she and I were sunburned from the day before. The director said we could come in, on the condition we keep out of sight and not make any noise. Done and done. We spent a couple hours squatting behind a side of the donut case, being very very quiet. When it was all over, we had a picture taken of us, sunburned and looking fairly horrible. Here is us for your viewing pleasure--

I'm wearing sunglasses my sis gave me, and I love them but they broke this weekend. I was removing them and the left ear thing snapped off. Unfixable too, because the plastic itself is broken. Ah well, I will get a different yet equally fabulous pair.

This concludes my rambling and somewhat incoherent story of my sister and my visit to her this summer. The end.

Hey, at catiecake's urging (go read her!), I added a guestbook to my diary this morning. I would love it if you'd want to sign it, especially people who read regularly. 3com.com, I'm talking to you, and mindspring, you too. Say hi to me, I'm curious about you.

I am so loving life lately, and I hope you are too. Yaaaay life!

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify