Repulsive baby

2001-03-08

My office has a really nice receptionist who is on maternity leave right now because she gave birth to the world's ugliest child last week. Seriously, I've seen jpeg pictures and the baby is hideous. It (she--it's a girl) was over 9 pounds and she seems to be carrying most of the weight in her face and neck. She looks like a sunburnt Don Rickles. I'm sure the baby will be much better looking once some of the facial weight is transferred to other parts of the body and she gets less red, but right now...[dramatic shudder]. Rumor has it the receptionist will be bringing her by some time today for a viewing, and I really hope the baby is wearing a cute outfit so I have something to compliment.

I love to talk bad about babies behind their backs.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers' song 'Road Trippin' is really really good. Over.

My sister is so great. She is 27 and is only 5 feet tall and is doing a master's degree in screenwriting in S. CA. She and I are someday going to write an Oscar-winning screenplay, you'll see. We both always write our acceptance speeches in our heads after the Oscars every year. She practices hers in the bathroom, using a bottle of shampoo as a stand-in for the statuette.

She almost died a few years ago and it was horrible horrible. She had a rare infection in her chest cavity and she had to have several surgeries and she was in the hospital for 9 weeks; 5 of those weeks were ICU weeks when she was in critical condition. It was fortunate that I lived in S. CA at that time so that I could be at the hospital so much. Our mom came from OR (where my parents live and where my sister and I grew up) when my sis was hospitalized and stayed the whole time and also a couple weeks after my sis went home. Poor mom slept at the hospital while my sis was in there, and she is not a young woman. She could have stayed with me but I lived 45 minutes away and she didn't want to be that far from the hospital.

After my sis got out of the hospital and had been at home a few weeks, she and I went to Vegas together for an overnight. It was very fun and we both won (and retained) over $200 from playing craps. We drank tequila sunrises and played craps for 5 hours, and neither of us had played before then. She wore a wig because her hair had all fallen out from the strong antibiotics she'd been on in the hospital (it all grew back). I'm glad we went because I moved to NC a few weeks after that and it was good to spend time with her beforehand.

Just wanted to tell you about someone I love, thanks for listening. I hope to write more later, but if I'm not able to, remember: tonight is Survivor, and it should be good.

I leave you with this:

BART: You can't Buy that kind of publicity, mom! Thousands and thousands of people saw Your pretzels INjuring Whitey Ford!

HOMER: You could call them Whitey Whackers.

Love to you, my pretties,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify