Oprah books and a side of meat juice

2001-02-28

Huh. I look really extra pretty today, and no one seems to notice. I know that just sounded conceited or something, but I think it's okay to notice when you look good and to acknowledge it to yourself. I mean, we're More than willing to notice when we look shitty; why not also notice when we look good? It just makes sense to me. Anyway, Francisco dyed my hair last night and it's a great color and I like it, but no one is noticing. Wouldn't you notice if someone's hair went from red to brown overnight? Yeah, I thought so. That's because YOU'RE observant and smart, and I love you for it. You know, you're looking good today too. Have you lost weight?

Contrary to the preceding chapter, my life is not all about how I look; it's actually not such a big consideration for me, usually. And lately, I've been doing more with internal self-improvement than external. By internal I do not mean getting my pancreas in shape; it's more to do with my brain and emotional wellness. I recently checked out of the library an audio book called "Why Some People Don't Heal, and How You Can", by Carolyn Myss. I checked it out because of my current potentially scary illness (only 16 more days until my Dr. appt), and it talks a lot about emotional healing and all that. It's pretty New-Agey if you wanna know, and I've never been into that but I found the book very helpful. One thing I have been doing lately is forgiving people, and that is something I never thought I would start doing, because it didn't make much sense to me; I didn't see what point there was to forgiving people. The book pointed out that holding grudges hurts you in a lot of ways, and grudges can suck your energy. When I heard that I knew it was true for me, so even though it hasn't been easy, I have forgiven everyone I was previously mad at and I feel much better. Another thing I am trying to remedy is my penchant for reliving the past. The book says that the past is dead and dwelling on it can suck your energy. This book is big into pointing out what sucks your energy, and the author uses "power" instead of energy, but that's too New Age for me, so I changed it in my mind. The author is also into angels, and I had to throw that out completely because I don't believe in angels. I recommend this book, because if you're not into the New Age, you can alter the spiritual standpoint the author is coming from into being more related to psychological issues, which is basically what I did. And I really feel that the book has been helpful to me, despite my seeming inability to clearly articulate anything about it.

Subject change. It has occurred to me this morning that I need to read as many "Oprah books" as possible, to try and glean the common denominator so that I can write a book that Oprah will select for her book club. Please understand that I do not particularly like Oprah OR think she's a big authority on what is good, but any book she chooses is an instant bestseller and makes a name for the author in question. If I could write an Oprah book my name would be made and after that I could write as many murder and mayhem books as I wanted. I think this is a good plan. Will I go through with it? Probably not.

I did a juice fast yesterday and it was really good. I drank grapefruit juice, V-8 Hot and Spicy, and V-8 Berry Splash (I was trying to avoid the highly sugary juices), plus a huge amount of water. I feel cleansed and I think I might do it once a week; it was that good. I was wishing, though, partway through the day that there was such a thing as "chicken teriyaki" juice or "bacon juice blend", because I was craving me some meat, but that passed. I had two eggs over easy with cornbread this morning, and I'm back on the solid foods. Mmmm...solid foods...

These http://www.deanandnigel.co.uk/ guys are really funny, you should check them out. Look at the "gallery". I put their wallpaper onto my computer, and it cheers me up during the day.

I feel chatty today so I may [gasp!] write another entry later, but then again I may not, because work is getting busy. Have I already said that my workload is much busier (almost nightmarishly so) during the Spring? Well it is, and the busy season is cranking up, baby. So I might not write again today, but if I think of anything worthy, I will make the time to write.

Hope you're having a great day. I send love to you, my pretty children, as does my drama queen alter ego,

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify