Entry entirely dedicated to Greg M., one of the nicest guys I've ever known

2001-02-12

I can't remember the Friday night dream about him very well now, and when I could it didn't make much sense. It was one of those that seem rational when you're dreaming them and then you wake up and think, "Wait a minute....why was that penguin ironing my navy blue suit? I don't even Own a navy blue suit." Some of the dreams I've had about him make total sense but most of them are just strange but pleasant. The person in question is someone I met in the 2nd grade, when I moved and started a new school. Let's call him Greg, since that is, after all, his name. I've been dreaming about him every few months since grade school, and the dreams continue to this day even though I have only seen him twice since high school graduation, the last time being in 1995. Francisco makes fun of me for these dreams, but he is highly tolerant of them, and he didn't say one word to Greg about them in 1995, when they met. I would've killed him if he had, but that's beside the point.

This latest dream got me thinking about Greg and how he was always so, So nice to me, even when we were children. Once in the third grade the whole school had to go outside because it was May Day, and the first graders were doing the maypole dance, using the tetherball poles. Yes I know, it was desperately cheesy. Anyway, I had foolishly neglected to wear my coat and it was a chilly day and I was cold, and Greg--get this--offered me his coat. In the third grade! How many third graders do you know who are that considerate? I don't know any. The Boy is sweet but he wouldn't think to offer a shivering girl his coat in a million years; it just wouldn't occur to him. I didn't accept the use of Greg's coat because he was the best looking boy in the school and the most popular, and people would have noticed if I was wearing his coat and would have teased me mercilessly, including the "two little lovers sitting in a tree" chant. In grade school I was very shy, and my first aim was to slide through unnoticed, so accepting the coat was unthinkable, but I will always remember Greg's thoughtfulness in offering it.

I had a huge crush on him, I might as well just say it now. An enormous all-encompassing crush, and there is some small silly part of me that still has the crush, even though my love for Francisco is vast and enduring. I was not alone in my crush on Greg--every girl in school had a crush on him and probably still does. I wonder if he knew how universally beloved he was. I wish I could talk to him and thank him for the coat offer and also for the time he stuck up for me when I had bad hair, but I have no idea where he is. He used to be in San Francisco, but in this mobile society he could be anywhere. I know several things about him: 1)He is married. 2)He is still gorgeous. 3)He is a very fast runner. Ah well. Live long and prosper, Greg, wherever you are.

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify