Apeshit

2001-02-05

If I was an ape, my A#1 priority would be throwing my shit at other apes. Or people, if I was stuck in a zoo. Yeah, if I was in a zoo, I would Never let my shit lie on the ground when it could be flying through the air at some asshole scratching himself under the arms and hooting.

Can I just talk about something for a minute? Something that kind of bugs me about some diaries I've read here on diaryland? Lots of people describe their lives as "crazy", but when I read their diaries I see that their lives aren't crazy at all; they are, in fact, quite normal. I am bemused by these diaries because I think the truly crazy lives are lead by people who want everyone to think their lives are normal. People who go to great lengths to preserve the facade of normalcy. And then there are the diaries where people call their lives "literally, a soap-opera". If I read parts of these diaries I can see that these people are Not actually the long-lost alcoholic illegitimate children of powerful men who keep their brothers locked in attics and can't go out in the car without hitting and running. These are not the diaries of beautiful neurosurgeons with twin sisters who take over their lives and who go insane if they have a miscarriage, 5 minutes into a pregnancy. So how are their lives literally a soap opera? Please note that I am not trying to denigrate these diaries or make fun of the people whose diaries they are. I am simply pointing out that the descriptions leave something to be desired for accuracy. Ah youth.

I have mentioned that my spouse, Francisco, is in a PhD program. Well. This weekend we went to a little reception-type function held for faculty and students in his particular program of study, and it was as boring as they usually are. But. At least I got to tell a very conservative lady, when asked, that I am employed at Hooter's. I then told her where I really work, but the look on her face at the mention of Hooter's was worth the 2 hours of boredom beforehand. That's what I do when I go to those academic things--I think up shocking occupations and hope that someone will ask me what I do. Occupation for next time: wet nurse.

Okay, listen up because I just came across a really great diary--Almost as good as Mary Chen's. She's Not-A-Finger, here at diaryland, and you should read her if you are in the mood to be vastly amused.

No more time to write for today. I do want to mention that I am really into the pull-up machine at the gym and will no doubt shortly be named Pull-Up Master of the Universe. Tomorrow I'm going to do kickboxing for the first time. I'm anticipating some humilation, but I think it'll be fun. You'll hear all about it....

E |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify