The Krofft brothers, reverse reincarnation, a few good ideas

2001-02-01

Here is something I read in the front of a family Bible, for sale in an antique store:

"Presented to Libbie McCracken

By

The Lady Employee of the

Cleveland Hospital for the Insane

July 1871"

I just really like that inscription.

Hey, I've been obsessed today with that old Sid and Marty Krofft tv show from the 70's, "Dr. Shrinker". I was thinking that the theme song would be really great if remade by some punk-type band.

"Dr. Shrinker! Dr. Shrinker! He's a madman with an evil mind... Dr. Shrinker! Dr. Shrinker! He's as crazy as you'll ever find..."

Show info and the theme song are available on:

http://www.geocities.com/Hollywood/Hills/6009/drshrink.htm

If you're interested.

I recently had this big idea that you could make a funny one-person show just by singing the theme songs to the cheesy old tv shows of the 70's, and maybe reminiscing about them in between. The performer of said show would have to be costumed in 1970's formal wear, for largest impact. The Dr. Shrinker theme would definitely have to be included, as would Chico and the Man, Land of the Lost, and so many Many more. Or maybe it could be an ensemble show and the cast could act out stellar moments in each show, in addition to the theme song. I would love to do a show like that, but I can't sing so great so I wouldn't do the one-person thing. This is an idea whose time has come, I'm telling you. I'm probably not going to do this, so I will give the idea away for free if I can attend the opening night. Anyone? Anyone?

Yeah, I have lots of ideas and some of them are pretty good, but I usually don't have the money or the time to actually implement them. Or let's face it, sometimes I lack the cojones. Everyone is short on cojones sometimes; it's not a crime.

Here is a request. Does anyone know where I, a person who doesn't speak html, could get one of those counter things that tells you how many people have visited your site? I suspect that maybe about 2 people read my diary so far, and I would just like to see if I'm right. Because you know if it turned out to be more than two, I would put more time in on the diary, and Damn, it would be funny! If you know where I can get the counter thing, can you just drop me a quickie little email with the url? I would So appreciate it! Both of you...

Well, my theory of reverse reincarnation has been validated by none other than Tom and Ray Magliozzi, the guys who do Car Talk on NPR. I came up with the theory, on my own I swear, last summer or so. The theory is that humans are the lowest on the reincarnation scale and that as we transmigrate our souls upward on the scale, we are reborn into lower and lower animals, ending, I guess, with aomebas or something before reaching the nirvana state. The theory occurred to me when I was watching birds. They seemed so fulfilled in their busy little flittering lives, and for a second I longed to be a bird because I felt I would be happier. I then postulised that the smaller a brain an animal has, the happier it is because it doesn't have to worry about much of anything, since it doesn't have the brain space, and that if we humans had good enough karma in our lives to advance on the reincarnation scale, then what kind of reward would it be to come back as a person again? That's no reward--I would much rather be algae. It doesn't make sense to be rewarded with more misery, so I am stubbornly clinging to the reverse reincarnation and I feel happy about the validation Tom and Ray have given to this idea, which I guess they also came up with on their own. Hey, if people are coming up with it on their own, it MUST be right! I don't know how, but let's just roll with it.

I found the diary of cubiclegirl, on diaryland, yesterday, and I urge everyone to read it because she is very entertaining and has an interesting life. She has overcome much and hasn't lost her sense of humor. So go read her now, NOW!

Talk to ya'll later,

Eva |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify