crack piece and asthmatic Esther

2001-01-23

Dude, I am so weary today. Early this morning Esther, our cat with asthma, had a little attack. Her asthma attacks sound like coughy wheezings that go on for awhile. Add the fact that she was on the middle pillow of the bed (we have a king) and right in my face with her attack, and you end up getting the full picture. I know from long personal experience that if I don't give her her prednesone pill (I call this "pilling" her) right away, she will continue to have attacks and they will progress to the point where she can barely breathe and her little lungs are all bubbly with fluid. At that point no amount of prednesone would help and I would have to take her to the vet, who would give her a shot of some other kind of steroid and a shot of diuretic to pull the water off her lungs. Also, because the diuretic could dehydrate her, the vet would inject subcutaneous water, right on her back where her front legs connect, so that she would have a grizzly bear hump. And that will be $100 please. Again, I know this from personal experience. So even though it was 3:59 in the a.m., I dragged myself out of bed and pilled her. I got back in bed, fully hoping to go back to sleep but I didn't end up being able to. My brain had clicked on and wouldn't shut off. Esther crawled in under the covers on my right and Lucy (our non-asthmatic cat) heaped up against me on top of the covers on the left. And so I lay there, thinking about this and that and didn't end up sleeping. One thing I thought of was that I really ought to get pictures of my cats tattooed onto my hips--Lucy on the left and Esther on the right--because this is, and has always been, the way they sleep. The tattoos would be very appropriate, and I might do it, but not anytime soon. I got up at 5:25 to get ready for work (I've been working at 7:00 on Tuesdays and Thursdays), and didn't even have time to make coffee. So as I say, I am damn weary.

Had a great weekend though! Went to the tattoo convention and it was very cool. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I periodically buy tattoo magazines and usually there is an article or two about recent conventions. Based on those, I determined that the Greensboro convention is comparatively small, and that there is probably more to do at some of the larger ones, like the Philadelphia and NY events. Anyway, there was a large room with booths, and most of the booths were artists representing their studios, and the artists were all tattooing people. The buzzing of the needles was so cool. I got to look at a lot of portfolios and there were some really amazing tattoos. My favorite was by a guy from Hamburg, Germany--it was in his photo portfolio. The tattoo was on someone's back and started just below the neck. It was of a hand holding a gazing globe that was reflecting an old man surrounded by bookshelves in a room. The old man appeared to be looking directly into the globe and so was looking from the person's back. Now that I think about it, maybe it was his hand holding the globe. Huh. Anyway, not sure if I explained that well enough, but I was very impressed because the tattoo was so well done. Glad I got to see that. Anyway, there were also tattoo contests in the evening, for the best tattoo in different categories (best large, best small, best overall male and female, etc). We stayed for best large and small and then decided to leave. Francisco's mother had kindly offered to babysit The Boy (which was great because he would've been So bored) so we needed to get back. Also, everyone but me and Francisco was smoking and that was really getting to me--the smoke was the only drawback to the convention. All in all I thoroughly enjoyed it and would like to go to one of the larger ones now; hopefully this summer.

The convention made me want another tattoo soon (I already wanted another but I was going to wait awhile); I think I'll get a crack piece. (I am referring to the lower back, above the "crack", and as far as I know no one else calls lower back tattoos "crack pieces"--I am one of a kind.) I would like a phoenix, rising from my crack...no no, actually I would want it to start several inches above there, but I do want a phoenix. I think I'll check out the Tattoo and Skate Asylum in Durham and see if anyone is interested enough in my phoenix idea to draw me up a few sketches. See, I would like to have a piece I could enter into the competition at a tattoo convention. I know it's silly but it would be fun, and anyway, if you enter the contest and your tattoo is pretty good, even if you don't win or place the magazines will probably photograph your tattoo for when they publish the write-up of that particular convention. Which would be great--I've never been in a magazine before, not any part of me. So I want to go to the Tattoo and Skate Asylum because I know those guys are more ambitious than the guy who did my belly tattoo. I like him a lot but he is essentially a slacker and would not care if his work is featured in a magazine or not. But the guys at the Tattoo and Skate are younger and seem more like they're trying to establish reputations for themselves, and therefore they might work harder to make my tattoo really kick-ass. I can hardly Wait!

I've lost steam with this entry and have to quit writing in ten minutes anyway, so until next time....

Eva |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify