Lima beans, squirrel fights, and musical ramblings

2001-01-18

Okay, so, no matter what you might think of Everclear, you have to admit that AM Radio is a great song. I really love it and maybe it's a nostalgia thing, because I too grew up in the 70's, but in my opinion the song kicks ass. I heard it on my way to work this morning, which is why I'm thinking about it.

U-R-L! U-R-L!

Still not over it.

This morning, pre-work, I watched a little MTV and VH1 (I switch back and forth, depending what's on) and I saw the Dido video (for the song Thank You). It's pretty good I guess, and I like the song okay, but I also saw a snippet of VH1 news, where some guy said, "I think the video shows that Dido is a talented actress". For me, this comment is where the record runs down. There's not a lot of acting necessary in music videos, and her's is no exception. She may well BE a talented actress, but you can't get that from her video. That's all I'm saying.

One more musical thing, if I may. This morning I also heard the Red Hot Chili Peppers' Under the Bridge. I love that song and I love the Peppers. Like, seriously, I love them, I love them so very much. One of my recurring fantasies is where I meet Flea on a plane and get to talk to him and we become friends. In this fantasy I would be travelling for business and would be bumped up to first class for some reason or another (work with me, people!), and that's how I would get to meet him, because you know Flea don't fly coach. He seems like a really cool person who tries to be down to earth despite his fame and fortune. He has a real passion for lima beans. Who can blame him? Which one of you is going to blame him?!

The RHCP makes me such a teenager, it's sick. I didn't used to be that way, except of course when I was a teenager. I don't think I'm going to stop loving the RHCP, so maybe they are my own personal fountain of youth.

Do not email me and tell me my musical tastes suck. I know I don't listen to obscure music like Mary Chen does (I love Mary Chen--I've never met her, but I love her. Read her diary at valueape.diaryland.com), but that's because I don't have much access to it. North Carolina isn't exactly brimming over with interesting radio stations. If anyone actually reads this and wants to email me with obscure bands I might like, I would be very interested to get that email, but don't be mean to me.

Hey, did you know that today is San Leobardo's day? No you did not! The reason I know it is because a couple weeks ago we purchased some items from Merino's Tienda Mexicana, in Durham, and they presented us with a poster/calendar that has their store info on it. The calendar features a saint on every day of the year, so if you ever need to know what saint's day it is, you come to me, I'll hook you up.

From my window right now I can see a couple squirrels fighting, and it's funny. I think squirrels have the funniest fights of any animals. They don't really hurt each other; it's not like they tear chunks from each other's flesh. They just chase each other and chatter furiously, and it's a hoot to watch. I'm sure you know what I mean.

Okay, I've gotta be done for today, and I still didn't tell you about my cats. Next time mon petite chou chous, I will tell you all...

Eva |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify