Backstory, effeminate heads

2001-01-17

Hello Interweb, it's great to be here! This is my first URL ever, and you know a girl's first URL is special to her. Be gentle with me...

I had good coffee this morning and I want to tell you about the place I got it, called Mad Hatter's, in Durham, NC. They have not only coffee but also pastries and cakes and cookies, plus lunch specials. Their phone number is--no, just kidding. The reason I am specifically mentioning Mad Hatter's to you is because I want to talk about the gay heads. Before I tell you about the gay heads, I want it known that I am Not Homophobic At All, Not In Any Way. Got it? Okay. So the reason the Mad Hatter's is called the Mad Hatter's is because they have lots and lots of hats in glass cases; in the seating area and up by the ceiling around the counter. The hats are mostly uniform hats--police and firefighter hats, military hats, etc--and they are all sitting upon male mannequin heads that look totally gay, every last one of them. I don't know what it is exactly that gives them that appearance, but it's very Village People. It's funny to see the hats that were likely worn by macho-type guys displayed on such effeminate heads, but probably I've gone on about the heads a little too long. Did I mention this is my first URL? I'll get the hang of it soon; bear with me.

Here's some backstory: I live in North Carolina, near Chapel Hill, and I work in Durham. I'm not going to tell you my employer's name, because I will want to bitch about them later. I was transplanted here about 3 1/2 years ago, when my spouse--let's call him Francisco, and we can change his name later if we want--started a PhD at Duke University. That's right people; he's smart. He's smarter than I am and he's probably smarter than you are, but you can like him because he's not a jerk or anything. Francisco has about another year and a half to go before finishing the degree, (he is starting his dissertation) and I am soooo looking forward to him being done. See, when he's done he'll get a teaching job at some college or university (we'll move again, but hopefully not to somewhere really cold) and I can quit this horrible job. I don't know what I will do after this job, but you can bet it'll be something else. Some ideas, and these are serious, are 1) writer (actually I'm definitely going to write, but I know it won't pay the bills) 2) tarot card fortune teller 3) Home Depot employee 4) stonemason's apprentice, and E) department store Estee Lauder maven (could get free samples, plus discount). I'm sure I'll come up with more, and suggestions would be appreciated or at least not spurned.

Francisco and I have been married for over 11 years, which means that I'm old. Actually I'm 33; we got married when we were undergrads. We should be divorced by now, what with the law of averages and all, but we're totally happy so we're going to stick together til death parts us, like Paul Newman and Joanne Woodward. Not that death should part them anytime soon, but you know what I mean. Francisco and I have not had any babies and we do not intend to. We kind of thought we would, when we first got married, but then as his graduate school experience got longer and longer, we sort of decided we didn't want to have babies, at All. His mother is sad but I'm sure Francisco's sister will have babies. Anyway, you plan and then there's life, by which I mean to introduce the fact that we became guardians of my nephew, who is now 9 years old, in the summer of 1999.

I won't go deep into detail about why we became his guardians; suffice it to say that his parents are good, good friends with heroin, and they can't take care of him. I'm not even going to fake-name my nephew here because I'm really paranoid of pedophiles. His diaryland moniker will be "The Boy", which actually we call him at home anyway. It's sort of a Simpson's thing--you know how Homer calls Bart 'The Boy'. The Boy is really great--he's so so funny. Here's a little story about him from last month. We were taking a car trip and stopped at a market to get provisions. He asked to choose some candy from the bulk bins and we agreed. I watched with amusement as he chose a couple candy necklaces and some candy lipsticks, plus one or two other things. In the car later he asked for a candy necklace; I passed it back. A little while later he asked for one of the candy lipsticks, and as I passed it back, he kind of snickered and said, "I'm feeling a little girly today." He is a gem, pure and simple. I will not regale you with every little detail of his life, because it's so boring when parents do that, but when I have something good to share, you will be the first to know.

I want to tell you about my cats, but it will have to wait because I have reached the end of my lunch hour. If you want to email me, then please do so, but don't give me any shit about the gay heads. I promise I'm not at all homophobic, and besides, if you saw the heads you would know what I'm talking about.

Later,

Eva |

cats-kittens

come over some time & see me - 2011-02-25
let's not say goodbye - 2011-02-23
the Rachel Zoe collection - 2011-02-10
I feel happy today - 2011-02-04
the tiny snow stalker - 2011-01-25

design by simplify